The morning run

Posted: November 17, 2009 in Motivation

Wrightsville Beach, NC – You know those mornings where the alarm clock goes off and you can’t wait to jump out of bed and take on the day?  All right, I don’t really feel like that very often either, but this morning, Tuesday, November 17, was one of those days.  I felt that way because I was off to run at one of my absolute favorite locations – The Loop at Wrightsville Beach, NC.

Being an early morning runner I have a special place in my heart for the east coast when it comes to running locations – there is something about starting out before daybreak and seeing the sun come up over the horizon.  The day is new and no matter what has happened over the past 24 hours – you get a sense that today is going to be better.

Causeway at Wrightsville Beach

It also feels like the things that you take in at that hour of the day were placed there only for you to see.  Whether it was the gulls I flushed into the air along mile two of my run, the newspaper man who gave me my first good morning of the day or Bailey the chocolate lab who tried to join me around mile 5 all of these experiences were mine and mine alone.  I feel pretty confident that not very many distance runners from Austin, TX can say they almost trampled on a blue crab crossing over a causeway this morning – (efforts to find said crab and publish via the web this morning were fruitless after my run).

Today’s workout was a standard mid-week training run – 6.25 miles at a quick 6:54 pace – no hills, no tempo work, no PR was set – but one thing I learned during my training last year at this time ramping up to make a run at a Boston Qualifying time is that no individual workout is “the key” to your training success.  It is a culmination of all of your workouts, each mile that you log building upon the last that put you in a position to reach your goals.  For me it was this bit of realization that made it all come together and help me achieve my Boston time.  Logic dictates that if no individual workout, no matter how well executed, can make or break your performance come race day – then each and every individual mile is in and of themselves “special”.  Each workout, whether it is the last of three 20-mile training runs later this winter leading up to Boston or this morning’s 6.25 miles around Wrightsville beach (twice) is a critical part of the process.

So enjoy them all I say.  Enjoy equally the rainy mornings that test your commitment and the windy days that make your legs stronger.  Enjoy the hot days that test your willingness to tough out a difficult run and the blue crabs who cross your path.  Enjoy the hills both up and down and most importantly – work in a few sunrises along the way.  They can make all the difference in the world.

Sunrise over Wrightsville Beach

Comments
  1. JCass says:

    The pics are showing nicely – thanks for the visuals.

  2. joerunfordom says:

    JCass – thanks for stopping by! Will do my best to include a lot of pics and interesting photos on future posts. Thanks again! Joe

Leave a Reply

