Marathon Maniacs

Posted: January 6, 2010 in Training

I stopped by for a “virtual” visit to one of my friend’s blogs today – http://chicrunner.com/ who many of the RFD readers may remember from a post about her back in November http://wp.me/pHGel-1P.  Danica has served as a great source of motivation since Run for Dom was launched last Fall.  In the short time I have known her, Danica has completed three marathons, her blog and adventures have been featured in both print and television media and she still has time to update all of the people in her life about everything from marathon training to pumpkin pie baking.

Official Logo - Marathon Maniacs

Today however I found myself reading about Danica joining an exclusive club – The Marathon Maniacs by finishing three marathons in a 90-day period of time.  Now I don’t know how much you know about this group – but let me tell you, they make somebody like me feel like a “recreational” runner.  I’ve stated in previous posts that I know I am a little bit crazy.  You have to have a little “crazy” in you to take on the 26.2 mile distance as a marathoner.  Fact is less than 1% of the population on earth will ever try it.  Of that 1%, only 10% will post a time fast enough for entry into the Boston Marathon.  So yes, I have issues.

But these guys take it to a whole new level.  After all, Danica who completed three marathons in three months only met their entry-level requirement as a Bronze member.  There are requirements for Silver, Gold, Iridium, Ruthenium, Osmium, Palladium, Platinum and Titanium.

After reading Danica’s blog I started thinking (which is always dangerous) – If I am going to be running two marathons in two weeks it would be crazy NOT to run a third marathon over the subsequent 77 days.  Who wouldn’t do that?

There is the Buffalo Marathon on May 30th, Minneapolis June 6th, There is the Hatfield-McCoy Marathon in West Virginia in Mid-June, even the Conoco Phillips Mayor’s Marathon in Anchorage June 16th ….. I could already hear my wife’s voice just like the first time I told her I was going to run a marathon back in 2006 saying, “you’re crazy” – ah, what inspiration.

Marathon Maniacs - Members Only Race Singlet

As luck would have it however as I was reviewing the criteria for membership on the Marathon Maniacs site I was shocked to see that the first way to qualify as a Marathon Maniac is to complete 2 marathons within a 16 day time frame.  How great is that!?!?  With the Boston Marathon on April 19, 2010 and the Pittsburgh Marathon only 13 days later – upon completion of the Run for Dom effort – I too will have met their entry criteria. 

So move over Danica – once we come through the chute at Pittsburgh on May 2, 2010 – I too will be a member of that exclusive group and eligible to earn that Marathon Maniacs Race Day singlet.

Funny how much torture one is willing to endure for that race medal, shirt or singlet – in this case a mere 52.40 miles is a fair price of admission in my view.

Like I said, I know I’m a little crazy.

For more information about the Marathon Maniacs Please Visit: http://www.marathonmaniacs.com/index.html

Comments
  1. danica says:

    YAY i’m so excited for you! That puts you at a higher level than me, and I’m jealous! ha ha. Great job Dom! Congrats and get that jersey!

  2. joerunfordom says:

    I am so psched! I was completely looking for a third race to run!

  3. Stephanie says:

    That is crazy! But, seriously I hope to be that crazy one day too! I am dying to run my first marathon. I love long distance racing, I definitely prefer endurance over anything else.

    It’s so awesome that you are going to already qualify for the Marathon Maniacs just by running the two races you already have planned. I’m excited for you, keep up the great work!

    Steph

  4. joerunfordom says:

    Thanks Stephanie! Very excited for Boston – days can’t go by fast enough. Take care and best of luck on that interview! (Not sure if you saw the blog roll – hope you don’t mind me adding you)

  5. GOOD LUCK! Hi my name is Ivan Donaher and I am 12 years old. I ran the Hyannis Marathon with the time of 4:37:46. I would like to run another marathon soon. I have this thing called the Hersey games for track and I need to train for it to go to the third round. Once I went to nationals and got in 4th place in the 800meter. If you want more information about me go to my blog THANK YOU.

Leave a Reply

