Race Week …. Friday 5-Miler

Posted: January 22, 2010 in Training

Bib Number - Austin 3M Half Marathon

Last workout today as we gear up for this Sunday’s Austin 3M Half-Marathon. Was able to stop by the packet pick-up today and get my bib (#1198) and a bag full of goodies from 3M – was a great mixture of coupons, 3M products and a very cool long sleeve race shirt. I also was able to drive the race course to get a feel for the hills that we will be experiencing as well as where the turns come along the course.

This is my first time racing at the half-marathon distance and I have to say I am very much looking forward to the race on Sunday.  I would have logged a solo 12-mile long run this weekend as part of my Boston Marathon training – so adding the extra 1.1 miles in a race environment will make Sunday’s workout much more enjoyable.

Normally I would recommend resting today prior to a Sunday race and just running a very slow easy 2 miles tomorrow to burn off some extra energy and nervousness – but since this week is really a “training” week and not a true “race” week – I stuck to my regular schedule.  My run today was a pace day where I try to mimic my race pace over the shorter distance.  I was able to cover the 5-miles comfortably in 36:23 (7:17/mile) which was :03 seconds/mile faster than my goal – so given the cooler temperatures this morning and my increased energy level – I felt good about today’s workout.

Best of all was the news I got regarding our hero Dom.  As many of you know from reading the blog or following me on Twitter – Run for Dom is my way of honoring a close friend who is battling cancer.  The “Run” is actually two marathons, Boston and Pittsburgh this spring just 13 days apart to raise awareness and support for Dom and his family – you can read more about the effort here:

http://wp.me/PHGel-H

Dom who has been recovering from surgery since the holidays made it back to work this week for really the first time with just a few exceptions in the last five months.  Dom was received at the office with a standing ovation from his coworkers – which tells you more than I could ever share about our boy.  He is truly an inspiration and I feel very honored to be playing even the smallest of roles in his fight against this terrible disease.  This coming Tuesday Dom will be heading back in for the start of his next (and last!) cycle of chemotherapy.  Three more rounds await that should have Dom done with chemotherapy just a week or two before the line is toed in Boston.

So on Sunday Dom – I run for you my friend – please stop back everyone for a race report and hopefully some great pictures of the race, family and friends.  Have a great weekend everyone – and for you Austin runners – be on the lookout for #1198 on Sunday – time to kick a little assphalt.

Comments
  1. Sarah says:

    Have a great race on Sunday! I’ll be cheering you on from California. 😉

  2. joerunfordom says:

    Thank you Sarah! Have a great weekend! Joe

  3. Heather G says:

    glad to hear Dom is doing better! GOOD LUCK on Sunday, run strong!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Thank you Heather! Great news indeed! Appreciate the well wishes – should be a great day for racing. I’ll try to get a report and some pics up after the race. Have a great weekend!

  4. connie says:

    win or loose first or last YOU ARE A “WINNER”
    good luck today

  5. Mamma Schafer says:

    Good luck.

  6. Lara says:

    Joe, it’s Sunday morning as I’m reading this, so I know you’ve been up for hours and are running as I type. I can’t wait to hear how the race went, and I know we chatted on Twitter about it, but the news that Dom made it back to work last week is so incredibly fantastic. Honestly, when I have a bad moment during the day, I think of him coming into work and the standing ovation and it makes me smile. That’s some awesome human spirit right there. RACE HARD!!!! 🙂

    • joerunfordom says:

      Lara – thanks so much for the message! Race day got off to a rough start with a 55 minute delay at the start due to wind blowing down road barriers – but once we got going it was on this morning! Had a great race. Will get a race report up with some great pics my wife took later today/early tonight. You are exactly right about Dom making it back to work this week – was the perfect inspiration to get out there, beat the wind and cold and kick a little assphalt – felt awesome.

      Take care and thanks again!

Leave a Reply

