Christmas comes early to Run for Dom!

Posted: February 24, 2010 in Training

As the alarm clock sounded at 5:45 a.m. Tuesday I could hear a lot of “noise” outside.  Wind blowing, rain falling and a quick 4-mile run on the schedule.  Tuesday’s are days where we get to push the pace a bit and “run fast” – so I knew I wouldn’t be out in the elements very long – but all things considered I would have preferred a mild morning with 50 degree temps.

Instead it was 31 degrees, rain falling and a lot of wind blowing in from the North – fun times.  After a quick first mile I decided that it was simply too wet and nasty to head down to the trail – so I would simply knock out the 4-miler on our neighborhood streets.  After a Sunday long run I like to stay off of hard surfaces during my next run – but the weather just wasn’t cooperating today.

As my Garmin beeped to mark the end of the first mile I hit the swithback that sends me back toward our home and I noticed that the “rain” that had been at my back was now a bit more biting as it was hitting my face.  In fact it wasn’t rain at all any longer – it was small icy projectiles – could it be?  Was it actually snowing?

I have to say that I really don’t take the local weather forecasts very seriously when they talk about snow or ice as it simply doesn’t snow here in Austin.  Any chance of it tends to get our local meteorologists a bit too “excited”, but this morning it appeared that they had it right.  Amazing.

I turned on the jets during the last couple of miles and wrapped up my “Ricky Bobby” workout http://wp.me/pHGel-9M in 28:24 (7:06 pace).  My last mile ticked by at 6:58 – good stuff.

Austin Snow Man - Really?

The snow kept falling and falling throughout the day giving Austin the most snow accumulation since 1985.  When I pulled into the neighborhood early this evening I actually passed several snowmen in our neighborhood – the most impressive almost 3 feet tall.  Now – I know the Northeast has been absolutely hammered this year with one snowstorm greater than the next – but this is “big-doings’” around these parts let me tell ya’.  Snowball fights just don’t happen very often in Austin.

New Gear from Under Armour - Score!

At dinner time another surprise greeted me as the doorbell rang and FedEx had delivered a package addressed to Run for Dom.  The return address was from the folks at Under Armour – SCORE! New Gear.

Being a huge fan of Under Armour apparel – a few weeks ago I had reached out to them to ask if they were interested in supporting Run for Dom.  After filling out a brief survey of sorts sharing the focus of our effort and the story behind Run for Dom, Under Armour was very gracious in getting back to me.

They told me that they would be happy to extend a sponsorship offer allowing me to order anything from their website or catalog at a 40% discount, how great is that!  I was able to load up on some great running gear, (new singlets, shorts, skull cap) and a few pairs of my absolutely favorite product – their “runderwear”. 

A lot of runners struggle with whether to wear underwear under their running shorts, if so, what kind and especially at the marathon distance, how to avoid painful chafing.  I tell everyone that I talk with about the subject that Under Armour’s “runderwear” and a little bit of body glide solved that issue for me 100%.  Great, great product.

So we had an early Christmas here in Austin this week with snow and everything!  Had I known better I should have ordered another one of those arctic beanies from UA that I like so much.  To the folks at Under Armour – thank you for your generosity, your running apparel is unmatched as far as I am concerned, and your customer service is pretty great as well.  Welcome to the Run for Dom team – I’ll be proud to race in your gear at Boston and Pittsburgh to honor my close friend Dom.  Happy Holidays everyone!

Comments
  1. Sarah says:

    Great news on the sponsorship! And with such a great company. I have some Under Armour clothing myself and really like it. 🙂

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Sarah! Thanks so much for the visit and comment. I was so grateful they were willing to help. Once I started training in their gear it got so hard to wear anything else. Take good care!

  2. jamijoy says:

    Hi Joe! Its Jami from UA. Great blog! Very motivating and inspiring. I hope you enjoy the gear! Keep working and training hard! You should come visit us in bmore for the Baltimore Marathon. Any tips on training? I am running the half marathon in San Diego in June. Best of luck to you!!!!!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Jami! Thanks so much for visiting and for the message! I will actually be out in LA on March 9th meeting with the group – so hopefully we will be able to catch up then – would love to talk about training and running. That is so great that you will be running the half in San Diego – that will be a beautiful course and a great race. Not sure if this is your first half or not – but there are some great training plans out on Hal Higdon’s website. I have a link to his site in the sidebar under training information. When we get together in a week+ out in LA we can talk about how to transition from base mileage to your long runs and most importantly – avoid getting hurt! No run = no fun. Right now if you are running 3-4 times a week about 3-4 miles at a time – you will have no problems ramping up for the half. It is a great distance. Best of luck with your training – looking forward to catching up soon. Take care, J

  3. james says:

    wow! “Under Armour was very gracious in getting back to me.” -congrats! and merry Christmas in advance! haha

  4. David says:

    tell me more about this runderwear! and the snow you guys got totally makes up for the snow Houston (and not Austin) got back in December! hope you got to enjoy it.

    • joerunfordom says:

      David – I am really going to have to post about that product – really solved all my issues. They are sold in a small clear plastic box in three lengths (and three colors – white, black and grey). The come in 3″, 5″ and 7″ length – and they are compression underwear. They are designed for running and are moisture wicking. They don’t move around or slide anywhere so there is no chaffing.

      I actually cut out the “liner” of my running shorts just leaving the outer shell and then wear the “runderwear” from under armour underneath —- no chaffing and plenty of support – even great under tights when it is cold … changed my life! I’ll try to get a full product review up next week.

      Thanks for the visit! Take good care,

      Joe

  5. Lara says:

    That’s fantastic news about the UA sponsorship, and fabulous photos of “Christmas” in Austin! I was talking with a friend who moved to Austin a few months ago and she was saying that she’d believe it would snow when she saw it. Sounds like you both have the same attitude about weather forcasting. 🙂

    • joerunfordom says:

      Thanks Lara for the visit! It was absolutely crazy last week here with the snow – going to be 60+ degrees tomorrow … it has been a very strange winter for sure! Under Armour was really great about supporting the run – that was really generous of them as you know running is not quite the “cheap” hobby that a lot of people think it is. Thanks so much for your message and support – take good care, Joe

  6. Very informative text. I’ve found your blog by accident but I’m really happy that i did. You have some really good info on here:)

Leave a Reply

