Archive for March 27, 2010

Dear Silver & Black:

I have a lot of mixed emotions as I write you this letter.  When we first met back in December and started to get to know each other I was going through a really difficult time.  I was starting to work my way back gently from those nasty shin splints.  From the first few minutes we spent together – I knew you would be there for me.  I was hopeful that in you I had found relief from the pain I had been suffering from.

Black and Silver Trainers

The first few mornings that we were alone together were tentative and I was really unsure about the future.  But in just a couple of weeks that all changed.  You were so supportive and cushioning – you made the pain I had been experiencing literally vanish.  For us at that point, it was all about the future.  We started spending more and more time together and we had a lot of great memories.

Remember that half-marathon in January where we set a new PR?  That was amazing, it wouldn’t have been possible without you.  Or do you remember the time that I took you with me out to California?  We went to Venice Beach together and the Santa Monica Pier.  Then we took that great trip up to San Francisco and traveled over the Golden Gate Bridge and back.

Those times really meant a lot to me and I’ll never forget them.  But right now it’s time for me to move on.  These relationships for me always seem to end quickly.  After you and I spent 31 hours together and we reached 250 miles traveled, I started spending time with someone else.

Black and Gold Trainers

That was about the time that new box arrived and a shiny pair of Black and Gold Asics were brought into the house.  Well lately the two of us have started spending more and more time together.  Starting this weekend we will be entering into an exclusive arrangement to finish up my training for Boston and Pittsburgh.

I know that I haven’t always treated you the best.  I sometimes took you out on muddy trails and rainy streets.  I would stuff you full of newspaper to dry you out only to drag you back out there the very next day.  Never once did you complain – never once did you let me down.  You did not even hold it against me when I had that brief fling with that pair of Asics Gel Kinetics.  You honestly could not have been better to me.

As a matter of fact, it’s not you, it’s me.  As I’ve gotten older I just can’t extend a relationship past 300 miles any longer.  If only my muscles were stronger maybe we would have been able to spend a few more weeks together, but we would have only been delaying the inevitable.

Again,  I’m sorry you had to find out this way and I’m going to try to find a new home for you.  I would never make you cut grass or wash cars with me – you’re better than that.  I’m hoping that your new owner will appreciate you for how great you still are, not how great you used to be.

Race Shoes

I wish we would be able to race together one more time, but that just isn’t in the cards.  I will remember you though when we cross the finish lines at Boston and Pittsburgh.  I never could have made it without you.  And don’t spend any time worrying about Black and Gold.  They won’t be racing with me either.  That honor is reserved for Blue and White who still haven’t been put on yet.

Best,

Joe

