Dom Update …. The hits keep coming.

Posted: April 10, 2010 in Motivation
Tags: , , ,

Our hero is having a tough time right now.

I hope you know I’m not talking about me of course.  Now with the first of two back to back marathons well within sight our Hero Dom is back in the hospital, recovering from another surgical procedure instead of regaining strength and spending time with his family at home.

I’ve shared in the past that Dom’s digestive system has had a hard time adjusting to life without a stomach since his surgery back in November.  For the most part this was limited to pain and discomfort while eating, as well as quite a bit of nausea.  This was the primary culprit keeping Dom from getting off of that feeding tube over the past several months as he has tried to be the good soldier and increase his eating and drinking of traditional foods and liquids.

Well last week Dom had a significant blockage and needed to have a stent inserted into his colon to take away some of the painful pressure.  Last night (Friday) Dom underwent surgery in Pittsburgh for a colon resection, as well as a temporary and reversible colostomy.  The news from the surgeon was all very positive in that the procedure went very well, the blockage was not due to any tumor.  Until biopsy results are returned in 5-7 days we will not be sure about the nature of the tissue that was removed, but the Doctor was very positive.  Even remarked that it could have been diverticulitis “pockets” causing the issue.

Now I’m not a Doctor, I don’t even play one on T.V., but it seems to me that it is about time for us to stop having these set-backs and get on with the healing.  Dom has been through a lifetime’s worth of challenges, disappointments, fears and hospital food since August.  I’m asking for some help here.  Please let this be the end of the test for my good friend and let him start on his way back to a full recovery.  It’s time.

So here in Austin, TX this morning I hit the tri-bike with a vengeance this morning – pumping away at those cranks and got in my second to last cycling workout before Marathon number 1 at Boston a week from Monday.  Tomorrow (Sunday) will be my final significant run of 8-miles before race day as we take our race shoes out for their maiden voyage.

I feel like I should be doing more, I wish I was working harder right now in preparing – but such is the magic of the taper, where less is actually more.  The rest my body is going through right now will benefit me much more at Boston in 9 days than any “tough workout” could.

Dom, hang in there.  Be the warrior that you are and push through this challenge like all the ones before.  I’m looking forward to seeing you in Pittsburgh in just three weeks and handing over that finisher’s medal to you after the race.  You’ve more than earned it my brother.

If you would like to help Run for Dom please visit:

http://www.runfordom.com/donate.html

Kicking Cancer's Ass 26.2 Miles at a Time

Comments
  1. onelittlejill says:

    Joe you are doing all you can do. You are an amazing person and great friend to Dom. Please know there are so many people rooting for Dom. Everything I can cross is crossed and all my thoughts are with Dom for the next 5-7 days. Please keep us posted!

  2. joerunfordom says:

    Thanks so much Jill for the visit and the encouragement – we’re all hoping this is “the wall” so to speak for Dom. Once he pushes through this one it will be on to the finish. Thanks for all you do and all your kind words. Take good care, J

  3. connie says:

    Joe Can’t thank you enough for all your updates on Dom. Good or bad I like to know whats going on. I told you before I knew Val from the same town we lived in. I seen her at the mall a few weeks ago and met her children. She couldn’t believe I knew so much about you and Dawn expecting. I read everything you write.
    I’ll be wishing you all the luck in the world in Boston. And as I always tell you “WIN OR LOSE YOU ARE THE WINNER”
    I am the sponsor of mile 4 in pgh

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Connie! Thanks so much for the visit, the support and sponsoring mile 4 at Pittsburgh – you are the greatest! Stay tuned, I’m hoping to get a lot of great photos from the races as well as Dom, Val and the family —- take good care!

  4. David H. says:

    Thank you for keeping us up to date with everything that is going on.

    • joerunfordom says:

      David – thanks for the visit and all the encouragement. We’re really hoping this is the last set-back for Dom and we’re moving forward from here. Best from Austin, J

  5. Di says:

    I was watching the 2009 Ironman on TV this afternoon and was amazed at the runners…their stories. Every single one of them has a story to tell and to me they’re all WINNERS. Very inspiring. You’re a winner Joe. Boston is up keep running for Dom! Best of luck to both.

    • joerunfordom says:

      Thanks Di! I love watching Ironman for that very reason – it is such a huge accomplishment and the participants have overcome so much just to get to that point. It is a very powerful story. Thanks for the encouragement for Boston – we plan on making some noise there next week!

  6. Robert Ranzer says:

    Right on Joe!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Bob – thanks for the visit! Hope those running aches have subsided and you are back out there kicking butt. I’m looking forward to running your mile! Take good care my man.

      • Robert Ranzer says:

        They have Joe. Ran 3 miles today in prep for a real 5k on the 25th. Thanks for the advice.

  7. joerunfordom says:

    Bob – that is awesome – congrats on the 5K. Let me know how you do, that is a great and very fun distance. Best with your training!

Leave a Reply

