2-Mile Shake Out …. Running With Elites

Posted: April 18, 2010 in Pace and Racing
Tags: , ,

Normally a quick 2-mile jaunt would not be “blog worthy” but I needed to make an exception this morning.

Whether you are an amateur marathoner or an elite international runner the day before race day calls for a very short, easy shake-out run just to burn off some energy and loosen up rested and tightening leg muscles.  For me that means just 2 easy miles to “shake loose” a bit.

Weather this morning around 6:00 a.m. Boston time was chilly – about 40 degrees which allowed me to actually put on my long running tights that I am glad I ended up packing back in Austin.  Having not run for three days instead of the normal two days off leading up to race day compliments of Boston’s Monday start – my legs felt even better rested than usual.

I knew I had to be very careful making my way through the Boston Marathon finishing area down to the Charles River that I didn’t get distracted and run a “wicked fast mile” in error.

As I crossed over the footbridge that takes pedestrians over Storrow Drive and down onto the path next to the Charles to my surprise in the early morning hours were the elite international men who just like me were getting in their light workout.  After some quick “good mornings” I actually got to run about 8/10 of a mile with the elite men, chatting with them before it was time for me to turn around and head back the way I came to the hotel.

Already an unbelievable experience, one of the funniest parts of the story occurred when a group of professional photographers with their huge lenses were snapping photos of the workout.  I’m not sure what they thought of me running along literally with Boston Marathon Royalty – but they snapped away at me nonetheless. 

Perhaps they think they came across a real “find” this morning as I run to Boston Marathon glory tomorrow – but unless they are interested in waiting around for about 1 hour and 8 minutes after the elite men finish, this morning will be the last they see of me.

I’m sure tomorrow will be full of a lot of great memories – but for a pre-race 2-mile run, that was pretty damn cool.

Oh, as far as the run goes I ran my first mile in control with the elites at a near perfect 7:54.  On my way back to the hotel still reveling in my glory and left to my own devices, I struggled to keep my pace under wraps and finished with a 7:13.  All systems go as we feel rested and healthy for marathon number 1.  Today will be a lot of lying around the hotel, resting, stretching, nutrition and hydration for tomorrow.

Thanks for all the kind words and support everyone!  Best from Boston.

Comments
  1. Cynara says:

    Just want to say one more time… GOOD LUCK JOE!!!! Have lots of fun, enjoy the race, get lots of rest today and go get that place tomorrow! You’ve been very disciplined on your trainings and you will do great tomorrow. I know your wife is proud of you as all your DM friends too. Finally the day is just around the corner and I hope this is one of many others to come. Good Luck! :o) Cynara.

  2. Stephanie says:

    Good Luck tomorrow Joe!!!! I know you will kick ass! I very much look forward to the recap!

  3. Lara says:

    Joe, I know you have since run Boston, as I just read this tonight, but I’ve been thinking of you all day and hoping all went well!!! Can’t wait to read the update on your blog, I’m sending good thoughts and hoping the burn wasn’t too bad. Next up; Pittsburgh!

Leave a Reply

