Clear Eyes, Full Heart, Can’t Lose.

Posted: April 19, 2010 in Motivation, Pace and Racing
Tags: , , ,

Good morning everyone!  Just a quick update from Boston as I make my way to the start of the 114th running of the Boston Marathon. 

It seems like it has been a long time coming, but we are ready to take to the streets of Hopkinton, MA today traveling along the storied course of the Boston Marathon.  Me along with 25,000+ runners will be covering every bit of the 26.2 mile distance.

I’ve said this a lot over the past several months since we started this journey together, that there are a lot of runners out there far more accomplished than I.  They have all trained just as hard for this race, perhaps some harder.  They have overcome great odds to be here and many personal challenges.  I am honored to be running alongside them today. 

Many of them are younger, faster, stronger.  Simply put they are “better” than I am at this sport that I love.

Some of them are running for age group victories, some for new personal bests.  Some even for prize money.  If things go my way today I will only get “beaten” by about 6,000 of them.

That’s O.K., in fact that is just fine with me.  Because today isn’t about me.  It’s about something more important than mile splits, personal bests and finisher’s medals.  Today is about honoring a close friend’s battle with a terrible disease and trying to do something about it. 

Trying to make something happen instead of rolling over and letting it happen to us.  That is what today is about – and that is what I am looking forward to doing in the next several hours here in Boston.  I just want to thank each and every donor and supporter of Run for Dom for an incredible last six months.  You have all made a huge difference in the lives of Dom, Val, Sierra and Nico.  You are the heroes today. 

Goals today?  Sure, I’ve got a few – but no matter what happens out there I’m going run my race and do the very best that I can today.  If that turns into a “best ever” type of performance so be it.  I’m just pretty damn honored to be here running in arguably the biggest road race in the world for Dom and his family.  At the end of the day whatever that finishing clock says I’m sure it will be just fine in Dom’s eyes.  This one is for you my brother.

Clear eyes, full heart, can’t lose.

Comments
  1. connie says:

    Joe I could not be more proud of you if you were my son
    Have a great and safe run
    Today and everyday “YOU ARE THE WINNER”

  2. […] I hope your Monday started off well. To all those running the Boston Marathon (like Steve and Joe): 1. You’re crazy and 2. You’re an inspiration, good […]

  3. David H. says:

    Can’t wait for your race report!

  4. estella says:

    You definitely can’t lose. There is no losing when you have a great heart and mentality. Thanks for sharing your journey with us. Have a great run for Dom today at Boston.

  5. onelittlejill says:

    Love the title! I am following you now…I just got your 10K time and you are kicking butt for Dom!! Way to go!

  6. Arlyne @acokertx says:

    Beautiful post Joe – your heart is definitely in the right place so I know this race will be amazing for you!

  7. connie says:

    I have been following you all day I am so excited
    Run Joe Run

  8. Sarah says:

    Thinking about you today! I hope you had a great run!!

  9. Josh says:

    hope you had a great race today! the Dillon Panthers would be proud to be with you!

Leave a Reply

