Back on the horse-Pittsburgh Marathon in 9 Days

Posted: April 23, 2010 in Training
Tags: , , ,

2 miles.  Sounds innocent enough.  Just a little shake-out run to get some of the lingering muscle soreness moving out of my quadriceps and hamstring muscles.  With Boston in the rear-view mirror and the Pittsburgh Marathon now just 9 days away, it was time to get back on the horse this morning. 

Mid Point Boston

As I slid out of bed I had to admit that I was feeling pretty good.  I was able to come downstairs last night forwards and not backwards which is always a good sign.  My three days of recovery that included a great massage on Tuesday morning, ice treatments and light stretching really made a huge difference.  As of this morning I was starting to feel like my old self again.  My left hamstring that bit me during Boston had calmed down quite a bit and my right hip/IT Band area was definitely quieting. 

Final Mile

The magic fridge called for a 2-mile recovery run this morning, so it was time to get on with it.  As I was lacing up the Asics I found myself wondering if I was in recovery mode or my second taper period before Pittsburgh.  My friend Jay referred to it as a “Retapery Run” – combining the best elements of the two types of runs.  That sounded just about right. 

The run went something like this: 

Ouch, ouch, ouch, ouch, ouch, ouch, ouch.  

I can’t say I was too surprised as those first miles are always the toughest post marathon.  At the turnaround point wrapping up my first mile I glanced down and was pleasantly surprised at my 8:13 split.  Mile two was even better in 7:48 and the “ouch-factor” had decreased by a good 50%. 

So we took our first strides toward Pittsburgh this morning.  We’ll get back out there again on Sunday for a 6-mile run and then start our second taper period next week leading up to our second marathon in as many weeks.  

The Pittsburgh Marathon was gracious enough to grant Dom and his wife Val VIP status for the race at no charge.  This will enable Dom to sit in the grandstand to cheer on the runners as they cross the finish line.  That is a sight I am very much looking forward to over the final tenth of a mile. 

Sunday is going to be a battle I’m sure.  I’ve never run marathons within the same year before, let alone within the same 13 days.  But that is what RFD has all been about since the beginning – doing something extraordinary to make a difference.  Kicking cancer’s ass 26.2 miles at a time. 

I feel like I learned a lot about myself this past Monday at Boston.  I can hardly wait to find out even more next Sunday.  I’ll say this, whatever it is that I have left to give next week is what we’ll be leaving on the course at Pittsburgh.  Anything less just wouldn’t be right.

If you are interested in contributing to this effort – please visit: 

http://www.runfordom.com/donate.html 

Clear eyes, full heart, can’t lose.

Comments
  1. Lara says:

    Ouch, ouch, ouch, ouch… and then it’s better. Why is it that the first steps of ANYHTING are the very hardest?

  2. Great job! One down, one to go. Might have been some pain, but seems like you handled it well.

Leave a Reply

