Giveaway Day on Run for Dom!

Posted: April 28, 2010 in Motivation
Tags: , , ,

Something different today as we have a giveaway for our readers and followers of Run for Dom! 

Now a giveaway by definition would lead you to believe that you can get something for nothing.  But if there is anything I’ve learned preparing for two marathons in 13 days – there is no such thing as a free lunch.  So to be eligible you are going to have to do a couple of things. 

But first, the good stuff.  What is the prize? 

British Bulldog

Steve Speirs a fabulous runner who hails originally from Wales, now from the Virgina Beach area – affectionately known as British Bulldog has donated a signed copy of his book – “7 Weeks to 100 Pushups” – to Run for Dom. 

Steve posted a sizzling 2:54 at last Monday’s Boston Marathon on a course that really tore up yours truly.  I believe I’ll be reading Steve’s book cover to cover before passing it along to the contest winner. 

Steve – thank you once again for your generosity and support – you Sir are the greatest. 

So what do you have to do to be eligible to win? 

1.  Log on to our secure site and make a gift in support of Run for Dom.  The gift can be any size and if you have made a previous gift to my effort to run two marathons in just 13 days to support my good friend’s battle with cancer – you are already eligible.  To give click: 

http://www.runfordom.com/donate.html 

2.  Post your prediction of my finishing time at the Pittsburgh Marathon this Sunday in the comment section below. 

I will check in after the race with my time and announce the winner on Sunday after our post race celebration with Dom and his family. 

The winner will be the person with the closest guess to my chip time (not clock time) – but unlike The Price is Right, the winner’s guess can be “over” – it just has to be the closest.  If we need a tie-breaker we will use gift size to crown the winner. 

Thanks again everyone for all of the kind words and support as race day is now less than 4 days away!   Please stop back throughout race weekend as I will try to keep everyone up to speed on all the events as they transpire.

Comments
  1. Reid says:

    I’m guessing 3:34:00, which coming off of Boston would be an amazing time. Good luck on Sunday, Joe!

  2. Sarah says:

    Haven’t done this since grade school and usually those were guess how many m&m’s were in the jar. I never won.

    Let’s go with:
    3:28

  3. Jason Cass says:

    Cass’ Prediction – 3:19:48

    I have faith! Better than Boston time, but not as good as last years Pitt marathon, as those 26 miles just 13 days ago are going to slow you down a bit. However there are some newcomers who are going to make sure you work hard to get there.

  4. Hglman says:

    No way you can better 4:10:23:03.

  5. Rob Ackley says:

    I’m going with 3:20:00 on the nose – you’ll get it and pack your bags for Boston next year!

  6. Josh Robertson says:

    JRob’s Prediction: 3:25:25

    Good luck Joe!

  7. Renee says:

    I will go with 3:36:10

    No reason, just a guess. Best of luck, Joe. I still think your Boston time was amazing and don’t understand how any human can run two of these in their life time let alone in 13 days. Best of luck to you and to your fundraising efforts for Dom!

  8. Chad Warren says:

    Joe,

    Based on your performance in Boston and your previous conquer of Pittsburgh last year, I am going with 3:16:09. Best of luck this weekend!

    W

  9. Gina says:

    I am just basing this off of some of the other predictions. I’m going with 3:45:33. I am just amazing at your ability to do this and turn around and get on a plane. You are nuts!

  10. Brian says:

    There is a quote on the Pittsburgh Marathon Website: “Only those who will risk going too far can possibly find out how far one can go.” (T.S. Eliot). I think you are going to find out on this Sunday just how far you can go Joe!

    With a three digit bib # and home court advantage; along with Dom, Dawn, and the rest of us waiting to cheer you across that finish line I am confident a Boston qualifying time is not out of the question: 3:18:45

  11. Mad DOG says:

    The weather will be fine. You’ll be applying max power to the jets after Forbes. The friends and Family will pull you to the finish. Godspeed Joe!

    3:17:17 PR baby!

  12. Maggie says:

    I’m going with 3:19:15. Good luck, Joe!!

    Good enough for Boston, more than good enough for Dom and everyone else who has been rooting for you since day 1. You make us proud!

  13. Martha Gropp says:

    I admire your determination and dedication and pray for your well being when you cross the line and hope you qualify for Boston next year, if that is what you want. 3:18:45

    Sunday should be crazy in Pittsburgh——the race, Penquin game and Pitt graduation.

    Let’s kick it good!

  14. Momma S says:

    What’s with the $10.00 bets. Put your money where your mouth is. I just bet $50.00 on 3:16. If you are so sure you are right anti up. Seriously Joe you are amazing. I can’t believe you are over $16K and still going. I hope you don’t do yourself in with the new little one on the way.
    See you in Pittsburgh.

  15. Mark Neuenschwander says:

    I really have no basis for any of this approximation — and I’m normally a numbers/data analysis guy — but let’s try:

    3:21:45

    I just know that the numbers involved in my running 26.2 miles would span days rather than hours.

    Good luck Joe! You’re doing great things and inspiring many.

    • joerunfordom says:

      Mark – thanks again for your generous support and you have a pretty good knack for predictions I think. Race days are funny as you never know what will happen – but I like your chances.

      Looking forward to catching up at the end of May here in Austin. Best, Joe

  16. Kyle Kremer says:

    I am going to take a shot at 3:24:00

  17. Chris says:

    I guess 3:26:36 – good luck Joe! I was going to go with 3:28 but Sarah already took it 😦

Leave a Reply

