Sunday’s 12 Miler – Both an end and a beginning.

Posted: May 31, 2010 in Training
Tags: , , , ,

5:50 a.m. and the alarm clock sounds.  It is a holiday weekend, but for a distance runner in Texas this time of year, there is a price to pay for sleeping in.  Even at 6:00 a.m. the temperature is already a steamy 77 degrees.  We have a 12-mile long run on the schedule hanging on the door of the “magic fridge” and this is not a run to skip.  So I hop out of bed, get Kayla started with her first trip outside of the day and her treat and get ready to knock out one final run.

20 weeks ago the Run for Dom training cycle began with a 3 mile run on December 28th in 32 degree temperatures.  83 Runs, 47 triathlon bike rides, 1,293 training miles, 1 half marathon, 2 full marathons, a mile race and $27,292.74 dollars raised for Dom’s family had been achieved up to that alarm clock going off.  All that was left was my final 12-mile training run. 

Run for Dom 2 Marathon/2 Week Training Plan

“12” is the distance that I like to run 4 Sundays after a marathon letting me know that my body is recovered, my fitness level is sound and I can basically go anywhere I want from here.  Another Marathon?  I could be ready in maybe 8 weeks.  A half-marathon?  No problem, is there a race next weekend?  Time for some speed training?  Hills?  Tempo Runs?  It’s all in play as essentially I am ready to ramp either up or down from that 12-mile distance.

Final 12-Miles

Sunday’s run was uneventful on a hot Austin morning.  I made sure to bring my hydrabelt with me topped off with two 10 oz. water bottles.  Over the course of 90 minutes and 59 seconds I would drink both bottles and still lose 4 lbs. according to my bathroom scale.  It was hot out there – but it felt great to let the miles tick by and think a bit about all of the ground we covered in the last twenty weeks. 

The last 5 months was a pretty remarkable “run” for sure.  Sunday’s run was a fitting workout, both enjoyable but very challenging at the same time due to the elements.  We mixed in some hills to make it tough at the end – just the way I like it.

I was hoping to come in right at 90 minutes (7:30 pace) this morning – but as the hills and heat started to get to me, I decided to slow my pace a bit and enjoy the final 5 miles of the run.  No sense to push pace just to post a 7:30 this morning, 7:34 would do just fine.  Monday (Memorial Day) will be a true rest day for me – no running, no cycling – possibly a strength training session – but no cardio work.

There will be one more task on the to-do list however, and that is to map out the next 90 Days of training.  We’ve got three weeks until the Holland, TX 5K on June 19th – which will be a race we take somewhat seriously.  One year ago I was able to set my PR at the 5K distance and take home my first (and only) first place age group trophy of my running “career”.  It was a hot, hot day last June when I was able to post my 19:43 time and I am hoping that training in these hot conditions the next three weeks will again prove to be helpful come race day.

Tuesdays and Thursdays will be dedicated to tempo work and hill repeats during this next 90 days, with a “Naked Wednesday” run stuck in the middle.  Saturdays will be an “easy” day – maybe just 5-6 miles with my Sunday runs alternating between 8, 10 and 12 miles throughout the summer months.  These next 90-days will also map out the remaining time Dawn and I have left awaiting the arrival of our daughter Landry.

Sure to be an exciting time for both of us – although I’m sure Dawn was wishing this final trimester was not going to be full of 95+ degree days.

Finishing off Sunday’s final Run for Dom workout was bittersweet.  Normally I like to immediately cross off a tough workout as I grab my water bottle out of the “magic fridge” when I get back home from my run.  But I let the final square go “uncolored” throughout the day Sunday as a reminder that we still have some unfinished business when it comes to our Run for Dom goals. 

Yes we reached our fundraising goal through the help of a lot of amazing friends both old and new – but our true goal, our credo if you will, was to “Kick Cancer’s Ass 26.2 Miles at a Time.”

As Dom prepares for another round of chemotherapy this Wednesday, it is clear that we haven’t quite gotten there yet.  So for now we’ll leave that final square on our RFD schedule clear.  We’ll have plenty of time to fill that one in later, when we’ve made it all the way to the end.

One Run To Go

Comments
  1. Leslie says:

    Gotta love your ‘true rest day’. No running, no cycling, but possibly a strength training session. A true rest day for me involves the sofa and the tv remote!

    Sorry if you’ve covered this in an earlier post and i’ve missed it but I wanted to ask about your 4 week post marathon program. Did you come it with it yourself or did someone recommend it? I ran London 5 weeks ago and since then i’ve just sort of pottered along without any real plan. The problem is that i’m now running less and less and finding it easier and easier not to run. I think If I had a post marathon plan it would make it a lot easier to continue running.

  2. joerunfordom says:

    Leslie – thanks so much for the message and congratulations again on London! That is on my “bucket-list” for sure. I borrowed the idea of a post-marathon “recovery schedule” from Hal Higdon – as in one of his books he spoke of the “post marathon blues” so to speak, and how without a plan to follow – it is easy to simply meander through some workouts without any real purpose.

    I found that to be the case when I was coming back from injury after my first marathon and was determined to transition much more effectively my next go-round.

    So, I developed my own 1-month recovery schedule – a little bit higher mileage than Mr. Higdon’s – that got me back to running a 12-miler within a month. It seems to give me enough rest to recover and re-energize, but not too long a break where my fitness level starts to leave me.

    For me, if I was running 30-35 miles a week before Marathon training – I try to get back to that within 4 weeks so I can get back on the horse. I think what you are saying is very true – it’s easier to find a reason “not to run” when life gets hectic than to find a reason “to run” without a race or a schedule to look forward to.

    The irony is that I have never regretted going for a run, only having not.

    Best to you Leslie! J

  3. Jodi Higgins says:

    Great post and I continue to keep both you and Dom in my prayers. What you have done and are doing for Dom is too amazing for words. Thank you again for going out on your rest day to finish that marathon for me. You have no idea how important that was to me and I can’t find the words to thank you. I have decided to run the Cleveland Marathon again next year with one of my sorority sisters that just got into running recently. She ran the 10K at the Cleveland Marathon and she sent me an email and mentioned that she would be “honored” if I would run the marathon with her. I don’t feel honor and myself go together but I am grateful that she asked me because now I know I am committed to attempting to beat Lady Marathon again. It means a lot to me. The running community is just amazing and thank you so much for turning me on to the DM. Those people are outstanding!!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Jodi – thanks so much for all the kind words and for your message regarding Dom – another tough week ahead for him, but he is really hopking this next round of treatment will calm things down a bit. He has been in a lot of pain lately.

      I am so happy to hear that you will be racing again at Cleveland – and with a close friend as well, that will be a wonderful day for both of you. I think you will find that bit of “redemption” you might be looking for and will be able to help a first-time marathoner achieve something that less than 1% of everyone on earth will ever even try.

      She has a great mentor and coach to lean on – you guys will do great!

  4. Jodi Higgins says:

    And I keep meaning to ask you, which Garmin is that? I am seriously looking into purchasing a new one. I have the FR 60 and it is okay but the distance differs depending on my stride since it is one that requires a foot pod.

    • joerunfordom says:

      Jodi – that is the Garmin Forerunner 405. I like it because it really is the same size and weight as a regular watch. It has all the bells and whistles that the Garmins typically have – auto pause, auto splits, uploads wirelessly to your PC to look at your workouts.

      The thing I like about it in this iteration is the improved sattelite signal – it loads very quickly when I am traveling and I even gt signal in downtown NYC – which my older version never could seem to do.

      I’ve noticed that it is much more accurate as well – as it had me at the Boston Marathon runnning 26.26 miles – that is pretty close and I’m sure based on how I traversed the course that I ran a bit over the 26.2 measured distance.

      I did not get the model with the heartrate monitor – but you can get that as an add on later. It also has a setting for when I am cycling, and there is a wireless device for the bike that will work with the 405 also.

      Two thumbs up from me – I’ve had no issues with it in just over two and a half years.

      Happy shopping Jodi!

Leave a Reply

