Baby on the way, Dom update.

Posted: June 6, 2010 in Training
Tags: , , ,

I woke up on Sunday with an 8-mile run on the schedule.  The run was going to go one of two ways – either a tempo run, something around 7:10 pace or if it was too hot I was going to do some hill work instead.  Well, I didn’t even make it to the garage door to stretch and knew it wasn’t a “tempo-run” kind of day. 

78 degrees with 90% humidity.

Sunday Hill Work

No chance of going fast on Sunday morning, whether we had watched Talladega Nights for the 20th time on Saturday night or not – it was not a day to “Go Fast”.  So I turned left onto Palmbrook Drive and started to climb up the 2-mile stretch of road we used for our hill training workouts preparing for Boston this winter.  I kept the pace slow and steady and worked those tired quadricept muscles from a full week of running and a 16 mile bike ride on Friday.

I am now firmly into my “in-between” training plan, post Run for Dom “double” of the Boston and Pittsburgh Marathons last month, and still four months away from when we start our 18-week training plan for the Austin Marathon in February. 

There, I said it.  It’s out there now.  February 20th, Austin, TX – our “Back to Boston” race where we will make another run at a Boston Marathon qualifying time.  I will still need to run a 3:20:59 (7:37 pace) to make it into the field as a then 43-year-old marathoner.  That time  is something very much within our grasp with a little bit of hard work, health and of course, luck when it comes to the weather and race conditions.

So Sunday’s run was challenging with the heat and humidity for sure – but not with respect to distance or pace.  So it was a good morning for reflection as my mind was free to think about anything I wanted and let my legs churn more or less on auto-pilot.  I found myself flip-flopping between two subjects over the hour-long run.  Our daughter Landry who will be making her grand appearance in just about 14 1/2 weeks now and our hero Dom back in Pittsburgh.

Saturday for me was one of those days where things start to get “real” all of a sudden.  Obviously I have had the better part of 6 months to come to grips with becoming a first-time Dad the first week of September, but yesterday as the guys delivered the nursery furniture – it got real in a hurry.

Landry's Crib

There is a crib in our house. 

Crib.  Our House. 

Not a “Pack n’ Play” that one of our house guests brought along on a visit – but an honest to goodness crib.  In our house.  As I looked at our poor unsuspecting spoiled dog Kayla in the baby’s room yesterday as the crib was being assembled I couldn’t help but chuckle to myself that neither she, myself or to some degree my wife Dawn truly understands the chaos that is sure to descend on our quiet little home in a couple of months.  The three of us will now be four – and things will never be the same.

The other moment where things started to get “real” for me this week was when I was working in Landry’s closet installing a second hanging rod for her “little person” clothes.  I am still amazed at the size of the little shirts, shorts, hats, socks etc. that we have been accumulating over the last couple of months.  It won’t remain a secret much longer after this post – but I have to admit – all this stuff is pretty cool.

How much stuff will she have in 3 more months?

But seeing all of her little outfits hanging in the closet, coupled with our ultrasound on Friday and the furniture delivery – it all came together for me with great finality yesterday.  I’m about to be a Dad – how great is that!

As happy as I was about all that is going on in our lives here in Austin on Sunday morning – and we are truly blessed – that is a fact.  I couldn’t help think about my boy Dom in Pittsburgh preparing for yet another round of Chemotherapy on Monday.  Dom, Val, Sierra and Nico along with the rest of their family have really been through the ringer lately.

Dom has been experiencing a lot of back pain as of late as well as further difficulties with his kidney function and digestive system.  After consulting with his Doctor last week the recommendation was for Dom to undergo yet another round of treatment this week to hopefully alleviate some of the pain and discomfort he has been feeling.

It has been rough lately.  As bad as it has been.  I know that Dom is struggling with these latest set-backs and is just hoping to catch a break here soon.  It seems like all the news we have been hearing lately has been not so great news.  We are all just waiting to hear that the latest changes are positive ones and Dom is gaining his strength and putting back on some of the weight he has lost.

Dawn and I will be trying to catch up with Dom later today to check-in and see how he is doing before heading back in to the hospital tomorrow.  If you could keep our good friend in your thoughts over the next few days I would greatly appreciate it.  We could use a little bit of help right now that is for sure.

Comments
  1. Naomi says:

    Congratulations – both on the new training plan and baby! If you think the closet is full now, that’s nothing compared to when she arrives! 🙂

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Naomi! Thanks for the visit – and man, do I know you’re right! That little lady is going to have a ton of gear by September – seems like boxes and bags just keep arriving.

  2. Jodi Higgins says:

    You are going to love being a dad! I remember my both my daughter and my son’s closets being very full. It was crazy.

    I will continue to keep Dom’s family as well as your family in my prayers. Cancer is an awful thing. You just want to take the pain away but you can’t. So, you continue to run and raise money to feel like you are helping in some way. I pray that Dom beats the cancer beast soon so you can be running for Dom because he is a survivor. There is no greater feeling. It was amazing to run 25 miles for Deb.

    • joerunfordom says:

      Jodi –

      Thanks so much for your visit and for all of your thoughts about Dom – we really need some positive energy right now – thank you so very, very much!

      As for the closets – I can only imagine when they get older! I’m as guilty as anyone bringing things back for her on my work trips – I just hope we don’t have to move again!

  3. I can’t wait. When you want to go on vacation next year just call and I will be there to babysit and dog sit of course.

  4. Nancy says:

    Put Duke and I up on the babysitting board too. We are going to have some free time on our hands and an all too quiet house!

  5. onelittlejill says:

    I love the name Landry!!!!!!!

    Dom deserves a break more than anyone I can think of…I hope he gets one soon. He, his wife, and his kids all deserve it!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Jill – Thanks so much for the visit and the message. We are looking forward to meeting Miss Landry in a couple more months for sure!

      Thank you for the positive energy and kind words regarding Dom and his family. Nobody deserves a good break right now more than he does.

      His fight has been truly remarkable. Best from Austin, J

Leave a Reply

