Greetings from Cancun, MX – It’s Race Week!

Posted: July 5, 2010 in Pace and Racing
Tags: , , , ,

Hola!  Saludos desde Cancún, México!

I always love it when I can find a way to use my 4 years of high-school Spanish and 4 more semesters in College.  It is amazing how valuable those classes as well as typing class ended up being.  Trigonometry? 

Not so much.

Dawn and I decided to sneak away for our last “pre-baby” vacation over the 4th of July holiday and we are really enjoying ourselves.  We figure this might be our last vacation alone for about 20 years, so we decided to take advantage of the long holiday weekend.  We’ll be coming back to Austin and reality on Tuesday morning.

That said, it is “Race Week” once again as Race #9 of the Summer Sunstroke Stampede is taking place on Wednesday night at 7:30 p.m. and we will be there with bells on.

The race takes on a little bit more importance this week as there is an honest to goodness wager on the line.  Our company based in Cedar Rapids, Iowa employs approximately 350 full-time staff members around the US and Canada.  In addition to our Cedar Rapids facility our Division has offices in Denver, CO and Austin, TX.

Staying healthy is a priority for our company – as it should be for most with the cost of health care ever increasing – and we do a good job of providing incentives for our staff members to get in/stay in shape.

As a reader of this blog you know that I love to talk about running and training.  Unfortunately for the members of our office here in Austin, they are subjected to listening to my ramblings about marathons and training more than they probably should have to. 

Most of the time we have a good time with it, sometimes however it leads to things like the day we had a “push-up contest”, but more on that another time.

As I tried to get our office excited about running a local race it came down to a formalized wager to get them on board.  So this Wednesday night, 7:30 p.m. – It’s on like Donkey Kong as we’re racin’!

The wager is simple. 

To “win” I need to complete the 5K course in less than half the time it takes the final office participant to finish the same course.

So if I post a time of say 20:00 minutes, each member of our office must complete the course no slower than 39:59 to beat me.

If the office wins, they will be rewarded by an outing on our local lake later this summer – paid for by the loser.  Me.

If I should win, the office will take up a collection to pay for my Entry Fee into the Austin Marathon in February and must come to the race, all of the race, to cheer me on.

Sounds like a pretty fair deal – so of course I decided to spend my “taper” period by the pool here in Cancun, enjoying Mexican Food and planning my race strategy.

Post 8-Mile Sunday Training Run Cool Down - Dawn snapped this pic from our room on the 14th floor.

(See how I already have my excuse prepared if I should lose on Wednesday night?)

After the race we’ll be heading back to our house for a little late-night barbeque where I will be able to hear stories from the staff about their race experience and how much fun everyone had.

Regardless of my time on Wednesday, I’m pretty sure I’ve already won. 

If anyone doubts how hard I’ll be trying, in the words of Ricky Bobby:

“if you ain’t first, your last!”

Comments
  1. Jodi Higgins says:

    That is so great that you get your company involved! Good luck on Wednesday! No matter what the outcome, be proud that you have passed on health and wellness at the company!!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Jodi! Thanks so much for the visit and for the great piece on Thursday on your blog – you are the best! Going to be a lot of fun on Wednesday – probably wasn’t too wise to schedule the race right after a Mexico vacation – but we’ll give whatever we have on Wednesday night.

      As you said, it’s great to get everyone at our office involved – will be a lot of fun. Best from Cancun! J

  2. Greetings from Cancun, MX ? It’s Race Week! « Joe Still Runs For Dom…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

  3. onelittlejill says:

    Pre-baby vacation is a good idea!!!!

    My friends just got back yesterday from their honeymoon in Mexico- I hear it is hot hot hot there! Of course, here in NJ today it is slated to be 101 degrees (80 degrees already at 8am!).

    Have fun and race well 🙂

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Jill! So great to hear from you, I can’t belive it is going to be 101 in NJ – that is incredible for the beginning of July – you might have to make a trip to TX for some cooler running weather!

      Making our way back to Austin this morning – time to get my “race face” on for tomorrow! Take good care and stay cool!

  4. Peter Larson says:

    Great idea Joe – way to get the office running. Enjoy your pre-baby vacation. MY wife and I have been on a total of 2 vacations alone together in the past 6 years, so they do still happen, but not very often! It’s quite an amazing adventure!
    Pete

    • joerunfordom says:

      Peter – thanks so much for the visit! Two in 6 years sounds like a pretty good deal! I’m thinking vacations will be a little different going forward – but will be a lot of fun. Only 8 weeks +/- until her arrival – so I better get on the stick and catch up on some new Dad reading!

      Best to you, J

  5. I would like to exchange links with your site joerunfordom.wordpress.com
    Is this possible?

Leave a Reply

