Warrior Dash …. Losing it?

Posted: July 19, 2010 in Pace and Racing
Tags: , ,

O.K. – I’m going to put this out there.  There is a chance, a small one anyway, that I might finally be losing it.

I don’t consider myself an “extreme athlete” by any means. 

Or an “extreme” anything for that matter.

Yes I realize that running two marathons in 13 days is not exactly “normal” behavior for most soon to be 43 year olds. 

And yes, maybe commuting to and from work today on my tri-bike in 97 degree heat to make sure I got my “cross-training” in on a busy Monday might seem a bit over the top.

Maybe running in 9 races over the last 6 months may seem pretty “extreme”.  And perhaps not everyone has a Harley Davidson Softail Deuce in their garage – but for the most part, in my mind at least, I think I’m more or less a regular guy.

That said, I might have crossed a line this morning as I registered for the 2010 Warrior Dash.

Warrior Dash is not just another race.  According to the race organizers:

Warrior Dash is the ultimate event for thrill-seeking athletes.  This running series is held on the Nation’s most demanding and unique terrain.  Participants will conquer extreme obstacles and celebrate their feat with music, beer, warrior helmets and muddy shorts.

When I read that the first thing that came to mind was, “Hell Yes!”.

The race or “battleground” as it is refered to will be held in Central Texas for the first time where 11 obstacles from hell await along the 3.2 mile course.

In addition to running a 5K race over cross-country terrain, I will be asked to conquer the following obstacles:

1.    Warrior Wall:  Warriors go up and over the wooden barricade.

2.    Breathless Bog:  Trudge through waist deep water and over logs.

3.     Walk the Plank:  Traverse a gully on wooden planks.

4.     Knee High Hell:  Speed through hundreds of tires.

5.     Tunnels of Terror:  Burrow through the black tunnels.

6.     Black Forrest:  Forge your way through uncharted forest.

7.     Hay Fever:  Hustle up and over giant straw hay bales.

8.     Junker Jump:  Clamber over wrecked junk cars.

9.     Cargo Climb:  Maneuver up and over cargo nets.

10:  Warrior Roast:  Leap over Warrior Flames.

11.  Muddy Mahem:  Scramble beneath barbed wire in mud.

Click here for the official course map:

http://www.warriordash.com/register2010_central_texas.php

It’s a fire leaping, mud crawling, beer drinking, run from hell.  If that doesn’t get your competitive juices flowing, I really don’t know what will.

In addition to all of the traditional fun that goes along with racing there are not too many races that I know of where the finishers get free beer and a warrior helmet.   

So circle your calendars for November 20th and plan on stopping back by for a visit.  I don’t think that is a race report you will want to miss! 

I will admit one thing however, this is the first event waiver that I have ever read every single word of …. I mean, it’s not like I’m completely crazy or anything. 

For more Warrior Dash Information visit:

http://www.warriordash.com/index.php

Comments
  1. Good luck and have fun. I’m doing the MD in NY state in September. Keep us posted on how it goes.

  2. joerunfordom says:

    RFD – thanks for the visit and the message! Really looking forward to this event, even though I’m not sure how much it will help me prepare for the Austin Marathon in February. It will definitely be a nice break from the monotony of the marathon training – just goint to have fun and make sure I don’t get hurt! Best from Austin, J

  3. Andy B says:

    I didn’t realize they’re doing one of these in Austin. I was too lazy to go up to Dallas to do one, but I want a viking helmet. I can be convinced.

  4. Stephanie says:

    I am doing this too!!! I cannot wait, it seems like it is going to be so much fun. I’m doing the one in Wyndham, NY and it’s in September. Good luck at yours, I’m sure you will do awesome and have tons of fun!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Stephanie! So great to hear from you. Very cool that you are doing the Warrior Dash up in NY this Fall. I will be sure to stop over and check out your race report for some tips!

      I’m most worried about the giant hay bales – that stuff is scratchy for sure! (Don’t know what that says about me that I fear the hay bale, but not the Warrior Flame Pit!)

  5. onelittlejill says:

    so fun!!!! I did a Mud Run on Maguire Air Force base here in NJ two years ago and it was the best time! I did it as part of a team and good thing…at one point there were 5 foot walls to climb over- I am only 5feet tall!!! I had to be lifted over them! It rained that day and after 6 miles of running, climbing, scaling, trudging, swimming and getting dirty in the mud I was beat but I cannot wait to do it again this year!

    And I cannot wait to see a photo of you in the helmet!!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Jill – That sounds like an awesome time that you guys had at Maguire AF Base! So many of these races I end up very “serious” and with such a specific race day plan.

      I’m looking forward to just cutting loose and having some fun. And rest assured – there will be lots of pictures! I’ll be sure to get a “helmet shot” just for you! Take good care, Joe

  6. That sounds like so much fun! And extreme for sure! But then that means you can be the coolest dad on the block. Let us know how it goes, if you survive maybe, maybe we’ll research something similar in SoCal 🙂

  7. irene matzner says:

    good luck christine on the warrior dash, let me know how you did and tell a bear good luck

Leave a Reply

