43 Things about Joe

Posted: July 31, 2010 in Uncategorized

In honor of turning the big 4-3 today, I wanted to post 43 things that you might not know about me.

  1. I started running in 2005 to shed a few pounds prior to an upcoming vacation.
  2. I am now 44 pounds lighter today than my pre-running weight in 2005.
  3. My all-time favorite music artist is Bruce Springsteen.  Nobody else comes close.
  4. My favorite song to run to right now is Ring of Fire by Social Distortion.
  5. I met my wife Dawn when I was driving a horse-drawn carriage in Charleston, SC.
  6. I love Indian Food.
  7. Diet Dr. Pepper is my favorite non-sports drink.
  8. I grew up in suburban Philadelphia, PA.
  9. I am a die-hard Phillies fan.
  10. I am about to become a first time Dad on/about Sept. 2nd.
  11. My biggest pet peeve is people who crunch ice in their mouth.
  12. My favorite television program of all time was the original 90210.
  13. I have a 2006 Harley Davidson Softail Deuce.
  14. I would like to write a book someday, but I don’t know how to get started.
  15. Even though everyone assumed I wanted a baby boy, I really wanted a daughter.
  16. Although people think I am outgoing, I really enjoy my time alone.
  17. My father is a retired carpenter, I admire those who can make something beautiful with their bare hands.
  18. Raising a child in our society today scares me.  I feel like there are a lot more bad things out there than when I was a boy.
  19. I wonder constantly when I will stop improving as a runner and I will start to run slower as I age.
  20. I think about returning to the Boston Marathon more than once every day.
  21. I love running in the rain.
  22. Putting our dog Precious to sleep a few years ago was one of the hardest days of my life.
  23. I wish that I was taller.
  24. I lost an older sister to leukemia when she was a small child.  We never met.
  25. My mother makes the best spaghetti “gravy” I have ever had.  Mine never seems to measure up even though I use the same recipe.
  26. When I am not traveling I eat the same lunch basically every day.  Turkey wrap, banana, pretzel nubs and exactly 5 fat-free chips ahoy cookies.
  27. I sometimes sing Christmas Carols to our dog Kayla when she is laying next to me and we are alone, she seems to like them.
  28. I can’t drink tequila or I throw up almost immediately.
  29. Parents who let their children kick my seat on an airplane irritate me to no end.
  30. I am trying to be a more patient person.  It is not happening fast enough.
  31. At the start of a marathon I get very nervous and can’t stand still.
  32. I love running in the morning, especially when it is still dark outside.
  33. I hate the Dallas Cowboys.
  34. I can’t imagine living anywhere other than Austin, TX.
  35. I want to take swimming lessons and to complete a half-iron man within the next 5 years.
  36. I wish I was a better dancer.
  37. When I was young kids would call me “Marshmellow” instead of Marruchella.  I told them it didn’t bother me.  It did.
  38. I need to tell my wife that I love her more often.
  39. I want to travel to Oregon and run in the Steve Prefontaine Memorial 10K by the time I am 50.
  40. I wish I had spent more time with Dom over the last 10 years.
  41. I hate going to the dentist and can’t imagine how anyone would pursue that profession.
  42. I’ve cried for a moment after I have finished every marathon.
  43. It took me more than two days to write this list.
Comments
  1. Ariana says:

    Very heartfelt list! It was very fun to read and very interesting!

  2. David H. says:

    Happy birthday, and thanks for the insights into your life. Keep up the great work!

  3. Connie says:

    Joe Every man wants a little girl. I don’t hate the cowboys as much as I used to. Many years ago my grandson seen pj with dallas on them he told me he liked them I told him to tell his mom because I would not spend my money on them. He is 21 and tells everyone about it. I loved reading this list I even printed it.
    Got an update from Helen the other day about Dom. Sorry things are not going well for him. I’ll keep praying.
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY HOPE YOU HAVE A GREAT DAY

  4. 50 says:

    50,

    Love your list. I can think of another 43 that most people would not know about you. Hope all is well with you. HAPPY B-Day my brother. Enjoy it…

    • joerunfordom says:

      50! About time you made it over here! Great to hear from you and yes, we probably do need to have a list of “High-School Years” top 50 or so moments. Would be a fun list for sure! Hope you are well my man.

      Will be making it back for 25th reunion this year – make sure you are there!

  5. Brian Cass says:

    Happy 43 Joe! You had quite a “run” at 42 this past year but 43 is already shaping up to be another pretty amazing year!

    I think I am going to give you one more year on top, but 44, when I am 30, I think that is the year I set my sights on beating you in a race!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Brian – thanks for the visit! If you improve over the next 12 months like you have the last 12 months I won’t stand a chance. Just keep training smart, avoid getting injured (nothing to set back improvement like 3 months on the shelf) – and you’ll be able to take me down with no problem.

      (You of course might have a good shot at me at the Warrior Dash in November – not sure how well I can climb walls, jump cars, hurdle flames etc. – might be your opening!)

  6. Happy Birthday Joe! 43 is going to be a great year! Thanks for sharing all these parts about yourself, great to get to know you!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi AJ! Always great to hear from you! When I make it out to the W. Coast for a race you’ll have to take me by the “Walsh House” in Alameda, CA – been on my bucket list for awhile! Take good care, J!

  7. tbrush3 says:

    Happy Birthday Joe and 43 will be your best year yet. I agree nobody beats the Boss and Diet Dr Pepper is my weakness!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Trey – thanks for the Birthday wishes! Diet Dr. Pepper is my Kryptonite …. we all have our vices and that is absolutely mine. Like a party in your mouth.

      Hope all is well in GA. Best from Austin, Joe

  8. onelittlejill says:

    Joe- we have a ridiculous amount in common:

    -I am die hard Phillies fan! Go ahead…quiz me!
    -I HATE ice crunchers!!!!
    -I love Bruce- true BOSS! I was born the night he released Jersey Girl thereby making me the REAL Jersey Girl 🙂
    -DALLAS SUCKSSSSSSS!!!
    -It took me two weeks to write my 100 things!

    I totally relate with 16, 18, 22, 23, 29, 30

    Ps- I might be in love with you (dont tell Dawn) for admitting you loved 90210- I watched every show and now the reruns on SoapNet every weekend!!!!

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Jill! So, so funny – when I looked at your top 100, it was amazing all the similarities. Here’s how bad a Phillies adiction I have – when they finally called up Dom Brown and gave him #9, all I could think about was him wearing Von Hayes’ number and if that was a good or bad omen ….. I have a serioius problem.

      Great story about your birthday and Bruce – I have so many great Bruce concert stories – I’ve seen him live 13 times over the years and if he were playing with the E Street Band tonight in TX I would be there.

      As for 90210 – I have to come clean, I very much wanted to be Dylan McKay when I was younger. Part of me still does ….

  9. Wendy says:

    Love this list Joe and may start doing one myself. It is amazing how children will help with the whole patience thing. I swear everytime we get on a plane that Harper will not kick the seat in front of her. So far so good, however we did have one incident of shear breakdown and there was nothing to make her happy. I just kept apologizing to everyone around. And finally, I too, hate the Dallas Cowboys!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Wendy! I’m really looking forward to all the lessons that Little Miss Landry is going to be teaching me in the coming years …. but I do wake up in a cold sweat thinking about flying with her back and forth to Pittsburgh this Thanksgiving. I might just save up all my free Continental drink coupons and pass them out to the passengers around us ….. hope you guys can make it for New Year’s that will be a lot of fun! Talk soon, J

  10. Jodi Higgins says:

    Great list! I have to admit…I do your pet peeve…yep, ice cruncher here. I can’t help it. It started when I was severly anemic and craving/crunching ice is one of the signs/side effects. I have never been able to break the habit! I didn’t grow up in Philly but I did grow up in PA!! If I am ever on a plane with my kids and you are on the flight, I won’t let them kick your chair! I too HATE the dentist. I have to wear my Ipod while they clean my teeth (can’t stand the sound of the scraping) and I have to have them put a local numbing spray on my teeth before they clean them! I often say I would rather give birth. LOL. Not that you would know what that experience is like. Just ask Dawn after the baby is born! Happy, happy birthday to you!!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Jodi! Thanks so much for the visit and the Birthday wishes – I know you were very busy knocking out that little half-marathon in Chicago. Congratulations! Just saw your race report on http://www.runjodirun.blogspot.com/

      Awesome performance – so happy for you!

      If you guys make it down to TX for a half this year we’ll have to work on that ice thing …. great advice for my next trip to the dentist – will definitely be trying that out.

      Congrats again on Chicago! Best, J

  11. Brendan K. says:

    Joe,

    Love following your posts on dailymile. Absolutely love the Phils. Grew up in South Jersey, went to high school in Philadelphia. I live in Massachusetts now so it is difficult being in Red Sox country, but I’ve got my MLB.tv package to carry me through; I can empathize with being behind enemy lines with the hatred of the Cowboys (I despise the Patriots). I’ve only gotten to see Bruce once, but it was first night of the US tour a couple years ago at Giants Stadium. I’ve felt I couldn’t top that so I haven’t tried. I feel if you aren’t nervous before a marathon, something is wrong with you. Do you get nervous / anxious as you’re about to sign up for a marathon? I sure do – Happy birthday!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Brendan – thanks so much for the visit and the message! Had no idea that you were a Phils Phan! Definitely tough in the middle of Red Sox Nation – although I rocked my Phils gear throughout Boston Marathon Race Weekend proudly.

      Funny you mentioned the signing up for a marathon experience – honestly I am so excited I am bouncing off the walls of the house or the office. I actually love the training for the marathon almost as much as the race itself.

      It is such a huge commitment and such a test that I think it makes me better at everything else in my life. It requires such focus and energy that I can’t help but try to apply that everywhere.

      I’m so thankful that distance running found me five years ago. I really do not know where I would be without it. Best to you, J

  12. Lara says:

    Happy birthday Joe! What a great idea, to write 43 things about yourself. I can see why it took a little while… 2 days is pretty good, I don’t think I could come up with that many interesting things about myself in 2 days, and my list is 6 numbers shorter.

    That being said, Social Distortion rocks, you could totally learn how to swim, tell Dawn you love her in ways other than words (it keeps things fresh for you both and helps with shyness), yes, things are different for kids now than when we were kids, you’re going to be a GREAT dad, and if you didn’t get nervous before a race you’d be an arrogant ass, which you obviously are not.

    Happy birthday, my friend.

    • joerunfordom says:

      Lara – thanks so much for the visit and the message! You’re closing statement made me smile today – so thank you! Smiles have been few and far between this week.

      So happy to hear you are thinking about training for your first “Full” this Fall. (note that I said first …. zero chance of you just running one). Reach out to me at anytime.

      Best to you!

      Joe

  13. Brandi says:

    Wow!
    I actually knew a lot of the answers my dear old friend! You left out one of the most important things as far as I am concerned. You never fail a true friend, no matter what the circumstances.

    • joerunfordom says:

      Brandi – Thanks so much for the visit! Those are some kind words you bestowed upon me, I am so very thankful. Best to you out in Charleston, heading that way this morning for Keith. Take care, J

  14. Ray Zindell says:

    Joe,
    Great blogging. I was a high school friend of Dom. Dom and I played football together for Hopwell. He was an awesome guy. I have lost touch with a lot of friends back home since college. Please send my best to Dom’s family as well as your wife Dawn. They would have known me as Corky Zindell. The Army has kept me far from PA the last 20 years. But please let them know i said hello.

    • joerunfordom says:

      Ray – thanks so much for stopping by and for the message. Really great to hear from a friend of Dom’s from back in his H.S. days. You may remember my wife Dawn Schafer (now Marruchella) and her sisters Kim, Wendy and Tammy. It really was a gift to have Dom in my life even for just a decade or so. He was an incredible guy who seemed to bring out the very best in everyone he came in contact with. I will be sure to let Dom’s family know that you reached out. Best to you and thank you for your service. Joe

  15. Ann Anderson says:

    Dear Joe. I live in Michigan and came across your dm and blog randomly as I stalk runners and enjoy seeing how everyone is training. I have been running 3 years and started when I was 44 years old and 60 pounds overweight. I must say I love reading about your training and your love and compassion for your friend Dom, your heart comes through as you write about your reasons why you run and your purpose. I don’t know you but I must admit I try to learn from you through your posts. My fastest half time is 2:03, my first time was a 2:29 so I am improving. What I like most about you is reading your words and sensing your mental toughness, I still have not been able to tap into that part of me and hope to be able to one day. Man I would love to have that mind set like yours. Although you are heart broken from not being able to run your upcoming race I know everything is in God’s timing. For whatever reason it is not meant to be now but trust me it will happen. You will be honored and blessed when you complete this mission of your for your friend and maybe even learn some things about yourself in this time of delay, because really anyone that follows you knows this is a hiccup in the road for you. You be persevere through this and be even greater because of it. Greater the challenge sweeter the reward. You have constantly inspired me as I click on your site and see your mileage, hills, pace, and love for your family. Take care and keep on keepin on. You inspire me!! Ann Anderson

Leave a Reply

