Seeking Beauty – Things starting to make sense

Posted: August 12, 2010 in Motivation, Training
Tags: , , , ,

It is hard to believe that just a few weeks remain of summer.  It seems just like yesterday that I was licking my wounds from the Pittsburgh Marathon and the month of May was just beginning.  The arrival of baby Landry was months and months away and Dom was battling back from his most recent procedure. 

In the blink of an eye it is now mid-August and thus far it is has been a month full of sadness.  The inexplicable and instantaneous loss of a close friend, wife and mother.  Dom now struggling daily – fighting for more time with his family. 

Even a rather bizarre “Kitchen accident” resulted in a gash on the top of my right foot that came very close to robbing me of my source of strength and daily therapy – running – late on Monday evening. 

Keith Luckie - Yellow-Bellied Sapsucker

But as I wrapped my foot on Wednesday morning for my “Naked Run” with no GPS or iPod to keep me company – I went out bound and determined to find something beautiful.

In fact Dom is doing just that with his family as they travel to the Great Smoky Mountains in an RV this week.  Given all that the D’Eramo’s have been through over the last twelve months, nobody deserves a vacation more. 

I’m not sure many of you know this, but Dom’s mother Shirley has been a school bus driver in Western, PA where Dom grew up since he and my wife Dawn were little kids.  If you have talent like that sitting idly by as school is not yet in session – why not take advantage of it?

So Shirley, Dom Sr., Dom, Val, Sierra, Nico and Cousin Renee took to the road to find some beauty in this world.  Good for them.

Dom Express - Heading to the Great Smoky Mountains

I had mentioned that my friend Keith was a tremendous photographer among many other things earlier this week. 

As I thought about Dom and his family exploring the Smoky Mountains – taking in all of the grandeur and beauty that is to be found in that part of the country – I decided to spend some time looking at all of the amazing photographs Keith had taken in the last couple of years.

You can view Keith’s photography yourself at:

http://luckieshutter.com/luckiegallery/index.php  

He has taken some truly amazing photos of wildlife, Charleston architecture, family and friends. 

Keith Luckie - Snowy Egret

When Keith traveled to Austin 3 years ago for “Marrupalooza” on my 40th Birthday, he took some incredible photos of the birds we had been feeding in our backyard.  One turned out to be a Painted Bunting, which to that point I thought was just a cute little bird. 

Upon closer inspection the bird was one of the most vibrant I had ever seen.  Yellows, greens, blues and reds all competing for attention – but together – creating something truly beautiful. 

I had remarked to Keith while I was in Charleston last week that the bird was back and I had seen him a lot this summer.  Keith handed me a framed photograph of a painted bunting that he had taken recently – and remarked that it was Monica’s favorite. 

Keith Luckie - Painted Bunting

It feels like that will be the last thing I ever share with Monica.  I am so grateful for having learned that. 

Wednesday’s run covered 8 miles and it took me about an hour. 

Sometimes my mid-week runs feel a bit rushed as I am hustling to get back, take a shower, pack my things and make my way into the office. 

But this week I reveled in the morning sunrise and took my time.  I enjoyed every hill, every stride, every flower and every creature I came across.  I thought a lot about Dom and his family, about Keith, Monica and the boys and felt truly blessed to have had them in my life. 

It’s the way it should be – finally something this week made sense.

Comments
  1. Jodi Higgins says:

    Once again I am incredibly moved by your words Joe. You are an amazing person and anyone is lucky to have a friend like you. I will be heading to Western PA this weekend and I will take the time to think of Dom and his family and of course Keith and his family when I get to run a long run with my brother on Sunday! Take care, and keep your chin up! Hugs from Ohio!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Jodi! So great to hear from you, thanks for the visit. I hope you have a great trip this weekend and thank you for all the positive thoughts and energy, you are the best. Sounds like you and your brother have some great plans for Sunday morning. I’m going long as well on Sunday – I’ll be thinking about you guys. Have a great trip! J

  2. Connie says:

    I am so touched this morning to see that Dom went to see the Smokies. When my husband was alive we went there every other year.
    When we came home he would tell everyone God put the Smokies there so everyone can see them before they die. What a site they are.
    Hope he had a pain free trip.

    • joerunfordom says:

      Connie, thanks so much for the visit and the message – I’ve never been to the Smoky Mountains – I hear it is absoutley beautiful. Sounds like you have some great memories from there.

      That is a trip it sounds like I am going to have to make. Take good care Connie, best to you. Joe

  3. onelittlejill says:

    Dom and his family deserve nothing more than to enjoy every moment.

Leave a Reply

