A look in on Sean Runs for Dom

Posted: September 9, 2010 in Motivation, Training
Tags: , , , ,

Sean Runs for Dom

Last week I shared with everyone my good friend Sean’s quest to run the 2010 Chicago Marathon in memory of Dom.  Sean has picked up the baton and will be running his first ever marathon to not only cap off an incredible journey that began one year ago Tuesday.  But to also raise money for Sierra and Nico’s education funds, Running for Dom.

You can read about Sean’s path to the starting line by clicking here.

Sean just wrapped up his first 20-mile training run on Sunday and did so in fine fashion.  3:02:00 (9:06 min./mile pace)

363 days earlier, Sean took his very first strides as he started a couch to 5K program and struggled to run the first 60 second interval.

60 seconds.  About the time it has taken you to read this post thus far.  Sean struggled to run for that length of time just one year ago.

When I tell people about the start to my running “career” back in 2005, I look back on those “firsts” much like Sean has.

The first mile that I ran without walking.

The first time I ran through both loops of our neighborhood.

The first time I ran 3 miles.

My first ever 5K race.

My first double-digit run.

My first 20-miler.

And of course, my first marathon, November 19, 2006 – Philadelphia.

To that point there was nothing in my life that I had to work so hard for to accomplish.  Nursing an IT Band through the end of my training, I struggled on race day to a 3:58:08 finish.  “Beaten” by 2,695 of the 6,119 marathoners who competed that day.

Philly Marathon 2006 - Broken not Beaten

That remains one of my proudest moments when I reflect on the last 5+ years of running.  No matter how hard it got, no matter how much my body broke down, I never gave an inch.  There was absolutely nothing that was going to stop me from finishing that race.  If I crossed the finish in the shadow of Rocky Balboa on my hands and knees in front of the art museum in Philadelphia, that was how it was going to be.  We were going to get there one way or another.

I cast my eyes Northeast to Ohio and I see a man who is training and running for all the right reasons.

Sean talks about the journey far more than he does the destination, which is what makes him so special.

Sean is out there training not only to pursue the marathon, but he is training to set a good example for his boys.  To show them that if you want something bad enough, if you truly “want” it, then it is going to take hard work and dedication. 

It is those things that are hard-earned that make life so wonderful and rewarding.

Sometimes the best things in life are not free.  Some require a price of admission. 

I don’t really view it as payment as much as an investment – as the returns come back to you time and time again.

Sean, thank you for everything you are doing to honor my good friend Dom and to help his children enjoy all of the benefits of a college education that his father and mother dreamed of when they were born.  I could not be more proud of you and how far you have traveled to this point in the last 12 months.

Run for Dom could not have a better embassador.  You Sean are an inspiration to all of us.

To help support Sean’s Run for Dom please visit:

http://runfordom.why-i-run.com/

Comments
  1. Lara says:

    Sean is truly an inspiration, as are you, Joe. He’s going to have a fabulous race in Chicago this year… that’s a great time for his 20-miler!!

  2. onelittlejill says:

    You only get one first- love thinking about all those!

    Sean, like you, is someone who inspires 🙂 Although I never knew him, I feel like I knew Dom through you- giving even a little is the least I can do for someone as brave as Dom was- his kids were lucky to have him even if their time was cut entirely too short.

  3. From not running to 20 miles at breakneck speed…I know the motivation and dedication that takes. I cannot think of a better partner in RFD. Sean seems to embody the message of Dom’s legacy.

Leave a Reply

