We’re Back …. www.runfordom.com relaunch

Posted: September 14, 2010 in Motivation
Tags: , ,

You seriously didn’t think that we were going anywhere did you?

I mean, let’s face it, in true Dom D’Eramo fashion, we are nothing if not stubborn here at Run for Dom.

A little over a year ago on September 9, 2009 www.runfordom.com was launched as our first vehicle to get the word out about Dom’s battle with cancer.  It was our first use of the web to share our plans for the next 9 months.  We began to tell the story of Dom, his wife Val, their daughter Sierra and Son Nico, who was just two months old at the time.

We hoped that through Run for Dom we would be able to honor our good friend Dom’s fight, help raise awareness about the terrible disease which is cancer, and hopefully raise money to help offset medical expenses for Dom and his family.

The last year brought us many gifts.

Friendships were made that will last a lifetime.  Relationships from long ago were rekindled.  Families reconnected, holidays were celebrated as were birthdays and even new family members were born.

Landry Grace - Born 2 Weeks after Dom's Passing

We also got to spend 11 more months with our Dom before his passing on August 15, 2010.

Dr. Dom and Nico D'Eramo

My good friend Lara Robinson asked me if we could do a third part to her interview with me last week and we kindly obliged – you can read Lara’s transcript here.

I shared with Lara that when all this started a year ago I really wasn’t completely sure where Run for Dom was headed.  I knew we would make our way to Boston and Pittsburgh for our two marathons just 310 hours apart. 

I also knew that we would train hard for those races to honor Dom’s cancer battle in the manner which it deserved, but above all else, I hoped that we would be able to reach our fundraising goal of $26.2K to help the D’Eramo family.

Everything else was an unknown.  But much like Dom’s journey that led from one challenge to the next, constantly searching for the treatment or procedure that would finally kick cancer to the curb once and for all, Run for Dom would keep searching.  We would keep looking ahead to the next curve in the road or hill that rose up in front of us. 

I always felt like once we cleared the next obstacle, we would know exactly where we were heading.

Sure enough, after Dom’s passing last month the path became clear.  The next step for Run for Dom will be working to help fund the 529 Education plans that have been established for Sierra and Nico.  That is the path we are on right now and we will chase down that goal just like Boston, Pittsburgh and everything else that has gotten in our way.

So today, Runfordom.com is back and better than ever.

Please stop by for a visit check out our new site, additions include:

Contact Us:  Where you can submit a question or comment to me anytime about running, training, racing, fundraising or Run for Dom opportunities.

News and Events:  Where all Run for Dom related events will be posted, such as Sean’s Run for Dom at the Chicago Marathon or my upcoming race schedule.  There is also a calendar where you can look months ahead for upcoming events.

Run for Dom 5K:  This is the next big project for Run for Dom as I plan on hosting a 5K Run & Walk in honor of Dom in his hometown on the second weekend of August each year as a Memorial to Dom and his fight against cancer. 

Proceeds from the race will go to fund the 529 Education plans for Sierra and Nico – but just as importantly – I hope the event will allow the community to remember Dom each year on the anniversary of his passing.  What better way to celebrate Dom’s life and remind all of us just how wonderful a Father, Son, Brother, Uncle, Cousin and Friend he was.

I will be asking soon for advice, volunteer help, sponsor ideas and of course for runners to help me make this a first class event.  Please reach out to me with interest – I will take any and all help that I can get!

Follow Joe:  This will take you directly to Joe Still Runs for Dom.

Sean Runs for Dom:  Features Sean’s fundraising effort to Run for Dom at the Chicago Marathon, where he and his family will match 50% of all donations made to Sierra and Nico’s education plans out of his own pocket.  Race day is rapidly approaching on 10-10-10, so please click here to visit Sean’s fundraising page!

I will be using this area to share any and all fundraising efforts in the future for Run for Dom.

Donate Now:  This of course will allow you to access our secure giving page and make your donation to Run for Dom 24 hours a day, 7 days per week.

We will start our fundraising effort for the Austin Marathon on the first day of Marathon Training, October 18, 2010.  Race day is February 20, 2011 – where we will toe the line once again and take on Lady Marathon for the third time in 9 months.

Kicking cancer’s ass 26.2 miles at a time.

Thanks for visiting everyone!  And thank you all for your tremendous love and support of Run for Dom.  We’re back, and we’re better than ever!

Comments
  1. onelittlejill says:

    I am so happy to hear that you are going to continue this battle for Dom, even in light of his untimely passing. But the truth is, I would think no differently from you. Like you said, why stop now?!?1?

    I really hope I am able to make the 5k!!!

    Ps- loved the interview with Lara.

    Pps- WHY WON’T THE BRAVES LOSE??!?!?!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Jill! Thanks so much for the visit. It would be tremendous if you could make it to Dom’s race next year – I’ll apply a lot of peer pressure once we lock down the date!

      Lara is the best, it has been such a pleasure talking with her about Run for Dom over these many months.

      As for the Braves, just a matter of time – looks like our Phillies are starting to heat up just in time for the playoffs. Another parade would be a great way to wrap up 2010.

      Best to you! J

  2. Lara says:

    Joe, I LOVE it that you’re organizing this 5K for Dom! I’m throwing my hat in the ring; I’ve worked for race companies organizing races, coordinating Expos and working on the Environmental aspect (trash!) as well. Plus, I used to be a Stage Manager (can you say “bring the project together”?) and I’m a massive multi-tasker. Pick me, pick me!! I can help, and I WANT to help!

    peace and cheers,
    Lara

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Lara! Thanks so much for the message and for of course the great interview piece that you did for Run for Dom – you are the greatest.

      You will ABSOLUTELY be relied on when we get this race up and off the ground – I think this is going to be a great event and a great way to honor Dom in the coming years.

      Stay tuned! Best from Austin, J

  3. Ty says:

    Joe:

    You are one amazing dude. I am going through a rough time, but it cannot compare to what Dom and his family went through. You are an inspiration to many. Keep up the good work my man.

    Ty

    • joerunfordom says:

      Ty – thank you so much for the visit and for the kind words. You are the greatest. Best to you continuing your assault on Lady Marathon. You are looking STRONG my man.

      I know things are tough right now, you just have to hang in there and keep pushing – that’s what us marathoners do – and that is most definitely who you are. Best to you, J

  4. Kym Klass says:

    You are an amazing amazing amazing friend to do this. Good luck in this journey, Joe.

Leave a Reply

