New Year’s Eve – Goals for 2011

Posted: December 31, 2010 in Motivation
Tags: , , , ,

Are you kidding me? 

It’s New Year’s eve already?

What in the world happened to 2010?

I felt like I was finally getting into my 2010 groove, and now a new year is about to start.  Time really does fly that is for sure.

I’m sure for those of you who have been following along here at Run for Dom over the past year you have probably been wondering where my “Goals for 2011” post has been.  When it comes to goal setting, especially the goals that have to do with running and racing, I have discovered that 12 months is a long, long time. 

A lot can change over a year and what seems like a worthy or reasonable goal in January just doesn’t “fit” with your plans by the end of the summer.  It may be due to a lack of vision or short-sightedness or it could be due to an event that provides a glimpse into the future of the road you are traveling and you realize that you don’t want to go there anymore.

April 19th was that day for me as I struggled from Hopkinton to Boston on a 26.2 mile journey that would redefine my running for 2010. 

The first of back to back marathons for Dom took place that day and the famed Boston Marathon handed me my ass quite frankly on a silver platter.

I realized I had some serious changes to make if I was going to be the runner that I wanted to be.  The one I thought that I could be.  The one that I saw when I would think back to May 2, 2009 running the final mile of the Pittsburgh Marathon with confidence and purpose.

I wanted to get that feeling back and I was willing to start working hard to do it.

So plans for me to start swimming lessons and working towards my first Triathlon were scrapped from 2010.  I was going to focus on my running.  I was going to do speed work and hill work and I was going to race.  A lot.

Those changes happened “mid-stream” in 2010, and by December I had new PR’s in every running distance I raced with the exception of the marathon.  1 Mile, 5K, 10K, 10-Miler, Half-Marathon —- all in the books with fastest ever times.  Just one distance remains and we’ll be taking care of business with respect to the Marathon on February 20th. 

As of Sunday just 7 weeks will remain until I get my chance to exact a little revenge on Lady Marathon.  It has been more than 8 months since that day in Boston, and not a day goes by that I don’t think about that race.  I can do better.

So as I look ahead to 2011, I know that the goals that I set today are going to be ones that with the benefit of 20:20 hindsight 12 months from now may seem like they were “incorrect” or dare we say “wrong”.

That is the thing about goal-setting, the more aggressive you are in your approach and the “bigger you  dream” the more likely you are to swing and miss on a few.  But the rewards for pushing hard and dreaming big are what make it all worth it.  You can’t “Go Big” if you don’t “Dream Big” – so dreaming big is what we’re all about here at Run for Dom – and our 2011 goals reflect that.

Goals for 2011

1.     Run more than 2,011 miles in the coming year.

2.     Be running healthy and injury free the entire year.

3.     Re-qualify for the Boston Marathon.

4.     Set New PR’s for the Mile, 5K, 10K, Half-Marathon and Marathon.

5.     Run the ING NYC Marathon in November and PR.

6.     Complete a 5K with Landry (in her jogging stroller).

7.     Incorporate track workouts in my training this year.

8.     Take my first swim lessons.

9.     Complete a sprint triathlon.

10.  Continue to honor Dom and raise money for his children’s education.

So there we are, my running, training and racing goals for 2011.  Race distance times are something that will continue to evolve I’m sure as the year progresses.  I have had to raise the bar throughout 2010 as my speed improved and my race times dropped.  But to start out the year our goals for the various distances above are:

1-Mile:     5:15

5K:            17:59

10K:         37:59

1/2 Marathon:     1:25:30

Full Marathon:     3:05:00

There is not a lay-up on the list above.  If I am able to look back on those goals at the end of the year having crossed each of them off of my list I will feel pretty darn good about this aspect of my life in 2011.

There are other lists of course that I have had to make with respect to Dawn, Landry, Family, Friends, Co-Workers and some goals for my writing.  Chasing down the goals on those lists are just as important and in many ways, interrelated with my running.

The thing about distance running that I have come to love is that it has helped me in so many other areas in my life. 

In a way it is in fact a metaphor for life.

Distance running is challenging.  There are times when it gets tough.  Times when it doesn’t seem fair.  There are times when you simply feel like giving up.  Asking yourself what it is all for.  What does it all really mean in the end.

It is at those times that picking yourself up, dusting yourself off and pushing forward is the only answer.  You don’t always need to know why. 

You do it, because there really is no other choice.

You do it, because that is what the task at hand requires.

Nothing is given to you.  You have to earn every single scrap.

But the rewards …. oh man, the rewards.

I’m fortunate, because when times get tough in or out of my running shoes I don’t have far to search for inspiration.  I can just think of the last time I saw Dom in May or the numerous conversations we had over the last year and I know exactly what this is all about.

It’s about living every day the best you can, trying your hardest no matter how tough things get.  Never giving in, despite what anybody tells you. 

Courage is in the trying not in the achieving.

I may not be able to achieve everything on my list of goals in 2011.  Hell, I may not be able to achieve any of them.  But when I look at that list I know one thing with absolute certainty.

I am going to try my best.

Happy New Year everyone!  I wish you and your family a happy, healthy and wonderful 2011.

Comments
  1. Lara says:

    Hi Joe, these are some great goals. I agree with you that setting goals in running translates into all walks of a person’s life… I found that out this year with my own marathon. I love that you’ve dug so deep and are ante’ing up to the bigger, harder, higher goals in your own life. You’re really on a roll now, my friend!!

    Love to you and yours,
    Lara

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Lara! I am wishing you, Bill and the gang in Boulder a Happy and Healthy 2011! Big things in store for you next year I am certain of it!

      Thanks for all the great words of encouragement, and not just today – all year long – you are the best! Best to you from a warm cozy Austin, J

  2. Jodi Higgins says:

    Very impressive list of goals and as usual a very inspirational post. Thank you so much for allowing me the opportunity to get to know Dom through you. You are an amazing athlete with a heart of gold. Have a great New Year with Dawn and Landry!!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Jodi! Thanks so much for the message and the note. I am so very excited for your 2011 year! Ever since your last marathon, and the challenges that came with it – you have been a very different runner.

      Stronger, faster, more confident and really training hard and smart. All great things pointing towards an amazing 2011. Can’t wait to catch up with you down here in Austin. Keep pushing – you have a lot of great runs and races ahead and wonderful times with your family.

      Have a Happy, Healthy and safe New Year Jodi!

  3. Love2run says:

    That’s a great post and great list that I might copy for myself (except the speedy times). You never know what kind of curves life is going to throw you but with the right attitude like you have it will all be for the best. Happy 2010.

  4. Cortney says:

    Great goals. Pflugerville has a good triathlon. A lot of my friends do it every year. I don’t know if you have ever done the Pure Austin Splash and Dashes – they are a lot of fun. The do them once a month on a Tuesday night from April to September, good swimming practice and fun competition and only $10.

  5. Those are good goals Joe, and I hadn’t realized that you intended to shift to focusing on triathlons in 2010. My only advice would be to swap the order of #1 and #2 as you can’t do the former without the latter. And maybe make #2 all caps. Though, to be honest, I think being injured (slightly) is a valuable running lesson that perhaps we all should face at some time.

    If you do meet #2, I’m sure the rest of your goals will be no problem. Not to say that they are easy in any way, but that you are entering the year nearly capable of meeting them already due to your strong efforts in the back half of 2010. Best of luck!

  6. onelittlejill says:

    You missed a goal: Meet Jillian from NJ 🙂

    I know I have been MIA, but I am catching up slowly! I hope 2011 is treating you well and I look forward to reading more of your thoughtful posts and kind comments.

  7. Kevin says:

    New reader here. Good stuff, man, good stuff!

Leave a Reply

