Brand New Dad – Couch to 5K Series

Posted: January 7, 2011 in Motivation, Training
Tags: , , , , ,

Last November when training was just about to get started for the back to back marathons I would be running for Dom this blog, Joe Runs for Dom launched.  I had what I thought was an interesting story to share, one of my good friend literally in the fight of his life battling cancer.

While he was going from treatment to treatment and procedure to procedure Dom was fighting for the gift of “more time”.

More time with his wife Val, more time with his children Sierra and Nico, more time with family and friends.  Most importantly he was fighting for enough time for medical advancement to give Dom a real chance at long-term health and survival.

All the while I was in a race against time.  While Dom wanted things to slow down, I wanted my running to speed up.  I was pushing myself back from an injury, hoping to run two consecutive marathons in 13 days to honor Dom’s battle and raise money for treatment costs and his children’s education.

The irony of those days is not lost on me.  Dom passed away on August 15th and still a day does not pass by that I do not think of him.  The first time comes each morning when I am sitting on the edge of the tub putting on my running shoes in the bathroom.  Usually by 5:00 a.m. I get a reminder of just how lucky I am. 

Not too many people are as fortunate as I am to be given that gift each and every day.  The gift of awareness.  The knowledge that I am truly blessed with my health, a career I enjoy and most importantly what I hope will be a long future spent with Dawn and Landry.

The next time usually occurs at some point during my run.  It may be when I come down a hill onto a flat part of the course, my legs churning faster and faster enjoying every minute of my time outdoors.  I feel like I can do anything.  Strong, healthy, powerful.

Other times it happens when I am feeling just the opposite.  When a hill rises from under my feet or a cold wind blows into my face and I feel as if I am being tested.  Am I tough enough?  Am I running hard enough?  Should I be giving more effort?  Am I giving the best that I have that day?

Then there are the times that Dom surprises me.  Landry will look at me a certain way or I will get a “New Dad” feeling of just how precious a gift Dawn and I were given just two weeks after Dom passed away.  I will think of Dom’s family, how much they miss him and how much I know he is missing them right now.

I feel blessed.  I feel as if I for whatever reason have been given a gift and it is my responsibility to never ever take it for granted.  For it can all be taken away from you so quickly.

I have made many friendships and met wonderful people over the last 15 months or so while I have been running, writing and racing for Dom.  People who I never would have been fortunate enough to meet had it not be for Run for Dom.

Just last week I was asked to contribute as a content writer at Man of the House.  A wonderful “real man’s magazine” as they describe it.  A guide for the jack of all trades trying to be better.  Better at work, better at home, better as a father and as a husband. 

You can visit Man of the House by clicking here.

There are areas that address Home Improvement, Food and Cooking, Money and Career, Technology and Gear, Family and Parenting, Relationships, Looking Good and of course Feeling Good.

Photo property of Man of the House

I will be contributing to the “Feeling Good” area of the magazine, specifically exercise.

This is yet another gift from Dom.  Another opportunity to give something back, possibly help someone who needs a little push to improve their body, mind and spirit.

Over the next few months you will be able to check in weekly with:

Whole New Dad.

The series is a couch to 5K program created specifically to get a busy working man, (or woman – don’t tell anyone!) into a solid and safe 3 day per week exercise program to go from couch to the starting line of a 5K race.

I will be serving as virtual coach and motivator to help others start on a path that I myself traveled back in 2006.

To see the training plan click here.

Do I expect the readers to be chasing marathon aspirations in a couple of years?  

Nah.  But you never can tell, perhaps some of them will.  What I do know for sure is that I am so very excited to help motivate and inspire others to dare to try.

Dare to try something different.

Dare to try something that will be rewarding, but will require you to work for it.

Dare to try something that may very well may take you places you never imagined.

I hope you stop by from time to time to visit.  If you have been putting off giving this “running thing” a try and the idea of running your first 5K by the time March rolls around, this might very well be the surprise you have been looking for.

What have you got to lose?   A few pounds maybe?

What have you got to gain?  Let’s find out together.

Comments
  1. Joe … thanks for joining Man of the House and contributing. I’m sure this will be a great series for the site and to bring even more awareness for your cause. Thanks again.

    • joerunfordom says:

      Jeff – thank you so much for the visit and the message. I am very excited about the Brand New Dad Series at ManoftheHouse.com

      I hope we are able to get quite a few aspiring runners to the start and finish line of a 5K this spring! Best to you Jeff, J

Leave a Reply

