Austin Marathon Finished

Posted: February 19, 2011 in Pace and Racing
Tags:

Just a moment ago we crossed over the finish line of the Austin Marathon.

Our time was 3:15:01

A new PR by a little more than 2 1/2 minutes.

127th place overall.

A full race report will follow tomorrow – I just wanted to thank everyone for all of the great support and motivation to do my very best out there today in memory of our boy Dom.

Thank you for all the kind words and well-wishes. I thought of so many of you today as things got difficult.

I don’t think anyone really “wins” when it comes to the marathon. It is more about surviving the race.

I may not have reached my goal for today’s race on the clock. But I feel I ran with great courage and determination.

Conditions were very tough with high temps, high humidity and 15 mph winds.

Despite that, I was the best I have ever been today.

I know in my heart that Dom would be proud and that’s good enough for me.

God bless.

Comments
  1. tbrush3 says:

    Well done Joe. Tough conditions for a PR. Great race fighting all the way. I look forward to reading all about it.

    You are so right, marathon is about survival.

  2. Dave Shibli says:

    That’s a gutsy run, Joe. I had almost identical splits at Disney this year, so I know what you went through to cross the line. Well done.

    • joerunfordom says:

      Dave – thanks so much for the visit and the message. We’re not done yet. I’ll be back making a run at that time again in November in NYC. Give me that flat course and better temperatures and I KNOW I can make it.

      That is a huge win out of today’s race, as before today I wasn’t sure. But I’m convinced I have that race in me.

  3. Mamma Schafer says:

    Did you qualify for Boston?

    • joerunfordom says:

      Absolutely Momma S. Made it by 5:58 – we’ll see if that is good enough to get through the new registration process next year – but any Boston Time is a Boston time to me. Thanks for everything. Your race shoes did Great!

  4. IronMikeTri says:

    Great job Joe! Sounded like a tough day out there. Saw your 1:30 half split and knew it was going to be tough sledding for you to get Sub-3. Way to push through it and “survive.”

  5. David H. says:

    Congrats on the PR Joe. I’m looking forward to your full race report!

  6. Good work, Joe. When I read about the conditions I knew it would be a rough day. Way to hang tough, I know it is even tougher to convey how that felt.

    Rest up and recover for the CRBR…Just one big hill for you to cover here!

    – Richard

  7. onelittlejill says:

    I knew it all along Joe. I KNEW you could smash it out there!

    Congrats!

  8. Ariana says:

    Your posts always make me tear up. You ran beautifully Joe. The conditions were awful. I was praying for you and my other friends that were running it after I read your pre-race blog post. God likes to throw us some curve-balls. He like to remind us how tough we really are. I have no doubt that Dom gave you his angel wings at the end there. Rest up, recover well and get ready to rock NY.
    ((hugs))

Leave a Reply

