Reprieve Over

Posted: March 7, 2011 in Motivation
Tags: , ,

Seven days off.

I can’t remember the last time I didn’t run for seven days in a row.  To be honest, I really can’t remember the last time I didn’t run for two days in a row that was not part of a planned taper for a race.

You're taking how much time off Dad?

Last spring after running the Boston and Pittsburgh marathons back to back I remember thinking that I should take a little time away from running.  It would do me good to step back and let all of the bumps and bruises of the two races heal a bit. 

The funny thing was that after the beat-down that the Boston Marathon put on me, I couldn’t wait to get going again.  I felt like I had something to prove to myself when it came to the marathon and I needed to get on the horse and start making some immediate changes to my training.

I needed to run more hills, incorporate more speed work and race more frequently.  After a short recovery week I was right back at it more determined than ever to train for the race of my life.  Dom had made sure of that with his comments in the finishing chute at Pittsburgh.

At the Ragnar Del Sol race last weekend in Arizona, actually the day before the race when I was going for an easy run with my friend Steve, I felt like I really needed a break.

Physically my left knee was sending me signals that I could use the rest.  But I felt like I could use a break from training more from the mental standpoint than the physical.

I had been pushing hard over the past 9 months for sure, but the preparation and focus of making each and every workout “count” had really worn on me.  I could not remember the last time I went for a run just because I “felt like it”.  Every run had a specific goal in mind, whether it was stamina, speed, endurance or hill work.

Working out started to feel like “work”, and that’s when I knew I needed a break.

I love to run.  It is one of my favorite things in all the world. 

It was time to make me miss it again.

So instead of rising early to knock out a run I had a little more time at home with Dawn and Landry in the morning.

On Friday, Landry’s new arriving teeth conspired to give her a little fever.  So I actually got to spend Friday afternoon with her at home.

Playing Hooky with Dad

We built a new playhouse together and Landry got to test it out before the weekend.

I got Mail!

Saturday and Sunday were spent without a tempo run on Saturday and a long-run on Sunday for the first time in I can’t even remember how long.

Those activities were replaced by some more time playing with Land and a bath or two.

Hi Dad!

Today I hopped on the tri-bike in the garage for a 16-mile ride to kick off my cross-training day.

Tomorrow morning I’ll lace up the Asics and take to the Brushy Creek Trail for a 10 kilometer training run.  There will be a little apprehension over my knee, but hopefully it will be all systems go as I ramp up for the Run for the Red Marathon on May 15th.

The last seven days have been wonderful, I feel re-energized and ready to push hard preparing for race day.

Any perceived “fitness” that I may have lost in the last week will be more than made up for by the tenacity I am able to approach this next training cycle.  I’m not sure I would have been able to push myself quite as hard without it.

Comments
  1. Jodi Higgins says:

    Great job knowing when to give yourself a much needed break! Now get out there and crush it!!

  2. Joe, I have a strong feeling that you would have gone stir crazy this week if it hadn’t been for Miss Landry. I’m glad the little girl was able to help you give your body some much needed rest. I have no doubt you will remember this week fondly whereas any other time you would have wondered if it was the right decision and if you could have snuck in a run. Good work Miss Landry on keeping dad stick to his smart decisions!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi AJ! Miss Landry was a great distraction and I’m feeling really eager to get back out there and get on with it. She is the coolest AJ – hope you get to meet her in NYC this fall!

  3. Lara says:

    You haven’t lost any fitness you over-zealous workhorse. You’ve given yourself a rest. Don’t you know that you can’t be in tip-top shape without rest? I’m glad your brain finally caught up with your body!!! 🙂

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Lara! Funny how long a week off feels and how “short” a week of training seems …. I’m getting there, learning all the time. The cruel irony is once I have most of this sport figured out, I’ll be too old to do anything about it ….

  4. onelittlejill says:

    It takes a smart guy to know when enough is enough and it is break time! I think the rest will do you a lot of good.

    I have been away for some time but I have been getting caught up. Tell Landry to stop getting so big so fast! Looks like she is going to be getting a first haircut soon! i love how happy she always seems to be and it is obvious you STILL have the new dad glow 🙂

Leave a Reply

