Pain is just weakness leaving the body

Posted: April 8, 2011 in Training
Tags: ,

I got out of the shower after my 10 Kilometer training run Friday morning and my legs were really letting me know just what they thought about our return to running this week.

My calves, Quads and hips were all clamoring for more time in the hot shower and a little bit of massage to help them recover.

That soreness enveloped me like a warm jacket on a cold day.

It felt ….. awesome.

In my ramp up to the Austin Marathon I had been hitting the training hard for a solid year with no injuries and no unplanned days off.  I was able to go from run to run, workout to workout with no soreness whatsoever.

But this week, not even running on back to back days, after three runs of 4 miles, 5 miles and 6.2 miles my legs sound like Roberto Duran after his fight with Sugar-Ray Leonard.

No Mas.

Well, tough cookies guys, as there is no backing down at this point.

Bike tomorrow another run on Sunday and we are going to keep on moving forward as our knee is now back to 100%.

Amazing how just 5 weeks away from my regular training led to all of that muscle soreness in my legs.

It feels fantastic.  I feel like my old self again.  I feel like a runner.  So bring on the soreness I say.

Afterall, pain is just weakness leaving the body.

Comments
  1. I love this Joe! Glad to see you’re on the mend!

  2. I’ve found the same thing as I’ve ramped the mileage back up, even sticking to the 10%/week rule. May well be the other strength training I’ve added. Oh well, running seems to help, hope you find the same.

  3. COMMON COLD says:

    […] eyes and said: You hadMarines – Pain is Weakness Leaving The Body T-Shirt / USMC Medium …Pain is just weakness leaving the body « Joe Still Runs For Dom'TIS THE SEASON FOR WHEEZING AND SNEEZING | Official Website of …Herbal Tea BenefitsAloe […]

Leave a Reply

