Jumping in with both feet

Posted: April 25, 2011 in Training

I mentioned this in the past that whenever I have been forced to the sidelines due to an injury, when I have returned I have done so an even more determined runner. I’m not sure if it is the time away fromm my running shoes, or the sense of what my life would be like without being able to train and exercise, but for whatever reason any fatigue I am feeling or “rut” that I might otherwise find myself fighting disappears.

I come back and can’t wait to get back to it and push a new envelope. Get faster. Get stronger. Set new PR’s. Just keep pushing.

The fact that my 44th birthday is now just over 3 months away also may be playing some role in all of this. The fact is I’m not getting any younger, and at some point no matter how hard I work to keep lowering my times I am going to lose out to the clock being managed by Father Time.

But I still think we’ve got a few more years of quality training and racing to go as we are now just in our 6th year of running. There are still gains to be made.

All that said, there is another reason that I train and that is simply because it is a blast. A week like this past one does nothing but make me wonder where all of this hard work will take me next. My foray into training for my first triathlon has given me different workouts to focus on for sure, but it has also kept things very fresh, even as many days I am now working out not just once but twice.

Last week looked like this:

Mon:     15 miles bike. Evening Swim.

Tues:    6.25 Mile Tempo Run. Evening Swim.

Wed:      7 Mile trail run through the Eldorado Canyon. Evening Swim.

Thurs: 8.3 Mile Hill repeats.

Fri:        20 Mile Bike. Late morning Swim Lesson with Coach Clauida.

Sat:        8.25 Mile Run.

Sun:     12 Mile Long Run.

I was able to Swim, Bike and Run 73miles last week over 9 hours, 18 minutes and 43 seconds.

I spent more time training than a typical “work day”, but not a bit of it felt like work. I will write about my trail run experience out in Boulder later this week, but with views like this one, how could that be described as “work”?

Being Landry’s first Easter we have our good friends Ralph and Michele in town visiting from Pennsylvania and we were even able to make it down to the Salt Lick in Driftwood, TX for some TX BBQ – Landry had quite the time as well.

So, all in all a tremendous week of fun and training. We’ve made some pretty big strides with our swim over the last week, in fact, time to head to the pool for our Monday swim.

Race season kicks off on May 11th, lookout Austin. The train is back on the tracks and we’re looking forward to a big, big summer.

Leave a Reply

