Racing Tonight – Boy do I need it.

Posted: June 29, 2011 in Training

Yesterday my mother went through surgery to have the mass that was causing pressure on the left side of her brain removed.  Or at least as much of it removed as was possible.

The Doctor was able to remove 40-45% of the mass, which was what his pre-surgery estimate was, so that appeared to go as planned.

Mom did very well with the surgery and is recovering comfortably in the Hospital in Charleston.

That’s the good news.

The bad news is that the mass indeed turned out to be stage II cancer.  Not a benign tumor as we had all hoped.

We will know more when the test results come back from pathology tomorrow, but it sounds right now as radiation will be used to treat the area, no mention of chemotherapy at this point, but we’ll know more by the time I get to the East Coast.

So today I’m tying things up at work, getting packed, getting Kayla to the Doggie Spa so Landry, Dawn and I can make our way out to Charleston in the morning. 

Tonight they are running the 8th Summer Sunstroke Stampede 5K of the season series downtown at 7:00 p.m.  I’m going to sneak down there and drop the hammer on the 3.1 mile course.  Try to let out some of this pressure that I feel building inside of me.

I’m not going to bring my watch with me.  I could pretty much care less what my time is or how I finish.

I’m so angry right now I find myself looking for a fight.  So cancer is back in our lives once again.

Bring it on.

Comments
  1. connie73 says:

    Be strong When ever you wrote about your mother there was always something that made me laugh. Being Italian myself
    her calling sause gravy that was a first for me
    She will be in my thoughts and prayers for a speedy recovery

  2. Jodi says:

    Many thoughts and prayers being sent your way. From what you have said about your mom, she is certain one tough cookie! Crush that course tonight for your mom!!

  3. luau says:

    Sending prayers your way. Safe travels.

Leave a Reply

