Charleston Update – Mom home from the hospital

Posted: June 30, 2011 in Pace and Racing
Tags: , ,

Dawn Landry and I made our way to Charleston, SC to visit Landry’s Grandmother in the hospital after her surgery on Tuesday.  The trip East was very uneventful, although Landry did have some fun on the flights today.

Ladies and Gentlemen, this is your pilot Landry, today we’ll be flying at 35,000 feet.
Landry and Dad had a great time with Pilot Steve talking about the trip out to Charleston.  This is Landry’s 5th airplane trip, which at 10 months might be some kind of frequent flyer record.  Fun times on the way to Charleston even though we wished we were going for another reason.
 
We landed a few minutes early and got a very welcome surprise as my mother was ready to be discharged only 48 hours after her surgery.
 
News was pretty positive all things considered, we of course were hoping against hope that the mass they found on the left side of my mothers brain would be benign, but instead we are dealing with stage II cancer.
 
Approximately 40-45% of the mass was removed, the remainder will be treated with radiation 5 times a week for the next 7 weeks.
 
Roughly 1/2 of my NYC Marathon Training Schedule – each of my 5 weekly runs will be in honor of my mother’s battle against this illness.  I plan on running each and every one of them like I’ll never run again.
 
If Lady marathon thought that I was locked and loaded on February 20th aiming for a big Day at the Livestrong Austin Marathon this past winter, New York better pack a lunch, because it is going to be a long f’ng day out there for that race course on November 6th.
 
I’ve run marathons afraid (my first), confident (my second), nicked up (my third), exhausted (my fourth 13 days after my third), and prepared (my last).  But never have I run one angry.  Well truth be told I’m just plain pissed off right now and the NYC Marathon is nothing more than 26.2 miles that were foolish enough to get in my way.
 
Last night’s race in 101 degree heat resulted in a time of 19:00 flat.  A :14 second course and series PR for me about 12 hours before my flight out to Charleston.  The whole race I felt like I wasn’t running fast enough, wasn’t running hard enough, that I had more to give …. perhaps I did.
 
We’ll find out on November 6th.  I am going to train my ass off for that race, harder than we ever have before.  We’ll see what kind of tricks the marathon has up it’s sleeve for us in November, it seems there is always something that race tries to throw at you on race day.
 
But it better be up to task this time around.  If I have 1% of the strength and determination I watched my 82 year-old mother roll out of that hospital with today, NYC doesn’t stand a chance.
Comments
  1. Jodi says:

    Great pictures!

    Your mom is certainly one tough cookie! That is great that she has been discharged and is recovering at home.

    I thought about all of you and your mom during all 4 of my hill repeats! They were hard but certainly nothing compared to what your mom is battling.

    Many prayers sent your way!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Jodi! Thanks for the message and the visit as well as all the support and prayers. Keep on killing that training Jodi – you are doing such a great job, so proud of you!

  2. Jim in Maine says:

    Glad to read that the fight urge remains strong within your Mother Joe and that given the circumstances the news is a balance between bad and not as bad as it might be. She is no doubt a dtermined person who has raised a determined son … both will do their damnest to channel their energy and angst in a positive manner and do the best they can in the coming months – of that, we are postive.

    Enjoyed the pictures.

    Today on my meek but best I could do hill repeats I spoke to my Mother who is amongst the Angels and she promised me heaven sent prayers for your Mother. Stay strong!

    • Joseph Marruchella says:

      Thanks Jim. Way to take that hill this morning! There were a lot of hill repeats run today Jim, it really means a lot to me to hear you, Brendan, Jodi and the gang out there pounding away and getting stronger.

      You are the best, thanks for everything.

  3. David H. says:

    My thoughts and prayers continue to be with you. My friends and family continue to battle with cancer every day. Keep running strong for them!

  4. wymberley says:

    My Dad is stage 4. Good news is, we are 5 months post op. and he is at home and in a “pause” in tumor development. I know you worry, and you should. But I am amazed at how he meets and exceeds prognosis medians…for the better.
    I hope the same holds true for your mother. Your not alone!

    • Joseph Marruchella says:

      Wow, your Dad sounds like an amazing man – good for him! They say it’s not the size of the man (or woman) in the fight, but the size of the fight in the man – how true.

Leave a Reply

