Day 1 – NYC Marathon Training.

Posted: July 5, 2011 in Training
Tags: , , ,

90 runs.

That sounds like a lot.  I guess it is when you really think about it.  I’ll go through almost three pairs of running shoes training for New York on November 6th.  There are going to be a lot of long runs, some short runs.  Fast runs and slow runs, hot runs and wet runs.

Probably not too many wet runs training this summer in Texas, but mother nature usually throws a few my way just to keep things interesting.

Truth is I won’t remember too many of them when I am standing in the starting corral with 45,000 other marathon hopefuls in NYC on November 6th.

Verrazano Bridge - Race Start

But there will be two runs that I will remember for sure.  I always do.

The first run of the training cycle and my final 20+ miler.  To me they mark the beginning and the end of marathon preparation.  Sure I’ll still have about 13 runs left after my final 21 mile long run on October 16th, but for all intents and purposes, I will be a “fully trained” marathoner after that run.  The rest of the time is spent tapering for the race and trying to peak at just the right time to run my very best marathon.

Today was run number 1 of the training cycle; just an easy paced 6.2 miles were on the calendar.

I ran 8.35 miles of hills.

Things have changed for me when it comes to NY in November.

NYC was going to be my fall marathon to build a strong base before really ramping up my training for Boston next spring and taking another shot at 2:59:59 at perhaps the most famous and prestigious marathon course in the world.

But after last week’s surgery that my Mother went through to remove part of her stage II Brain tumor, I got an all too powerful reminder that nothing in life is guaranteed.  Putting off something until April of next year when I have an opportunity right in front of me is foolish on so many levels.

Will training throughout the summer heat here in Austin be difficult?  Absolutely.

Would the mild winter temperatures that lead up to the Boston marathon be better for me to hit the long tempo runs necessary to sculpt my body into 6:52 min./mile shape for 26.2 miles?  No doubt.

But that’s the thing about the marathon.  It’s not easy.  Nothing about it is.  Not the training, not the preparation and certainly not the race itself.  It’s not supposed to be.

So if I have to carry some extra water bottles with me on my 20, 21, 22 and 21 mile long runs this summer tough cookies.

Sunday's 15-Miler in Charleston - 7:24 pace

If I have to put in a little extra effort to hit my paces during the heat of the summer, then that is what it is going to take.  I remember standing in the starting corral here in Austin back in February feeling like I was in the best shape of my life.

I was the best trained marathoner I had ever been, and I was going to go out on the course and prove it.

On November 6, 2011, I am going to make that marathoner look like it was his first rodeo.

I will be stronger.  Faster.  Better equipped and more determined than I have ever been in my life.

On Wednesday last week my mother took her first steps around the hospital ward less than a day after her surgery.  At 82 she was doing laps around the hallway and was ready to be discharged 48 hours after surgery. 

Pretty damn impressive.

Last night Landry continues to pull up on things and work on her balance, she appears to be only a few weeks away from her first steps.

In November my mother will be long past her 35 radiation treatments to knock her cancer into remission.  Landry will be walking along next to her Mom up to Central Park to see her Dad finish the NY Marathon in the fastest time he has ever run.

Today, I took my first strides as well toward Staten Island and the NYC Marathon.

Every one of them counted.  I’m now 8.35 miles closer to race day.

Can’t wait.

Comments
  1. wymberley says:

    Best Wishes to your mother. It is a scary thing to experience I’m sure.
    I found this quote last night:
    I run because it’s so symbolic of life. You have to drive yourself to overcome the obstacles. You might feel that you can’t. But then you find your inner strength, and realize you’re capable of so much more than you thought.”
    -Arthur Blank

    • Joseph Marruchella says:

      Thanks so much for the visit and the message Wymberly – and that quote is so very spot on. Scary times indeed right now, we need some good fortune to shine down on us. So far so good, we hope the radiation therapy does its job. Take good care and thanks again for stopping by.

  2. Jodi says:

    Thinking about your family as always and sending strength and prayers to your mom. As you know my best friend Deb had a brain tumor removed 11 years ago. She only did radiation as well. Deb is strong and I know your mother is just as strong as her. She will be in the fight of her life but I am certain when the final bell rings your mom will come out victorious!

    Here’s to first steps…

    • Joseph Marruchella says:

      Hi Jodi – I actually thought about Deb a lot when dealing with my Mom’s diagnosis. Just spoke to her and she is feeling really good today – amazing how quickly she recovered from surgery. Treatments are not going to be fun, but we’re hoping and praying for the best.

Leave a Reply

