5 weeks from today we will be competing in the Austin Triathlon as part of a relay team, running the 6.2 mile “anchor leg” for team, “How’s my back look?” as we hope to throw down a fast swim, bike and run in the Olympic Distance Event.

20 days later I will be joining some of my close runner friends here in Austin competing in the Silicon Labs Marathon Relay.  A 5 person relay event covering 26.2 miles as members of each team run 12K, 10K, 10K, 5K and 5K legs.  Our “Masters” or over-40 year old team is hoping to put down a fast marathon time in the 2 hour 45 minute range and potentially bring home an age-group win.

A week later it is the IBM Uptown Classic 10K.

One week later I will be out in Denver racing in the Rock and Roll Denver Half-Marathon, our final tune-up before our next marathon.

Then one month later we will be toeing the line in the granddaddy of them all, the New York City Marathon.  Just me and 45,000 of my closest marathon friends from literally all over the world taking on lady marathon in the city that never sleeps.  Although I’m sure I’ll sleep like a baby Sunday night after battling it out through the 5 boroughs and powering through central park to the finish line at Tavern on the Green.

All of that sounds like a lot of fun, and those races will be for sure.  But there are a lot of training miles left before NYC.  637 and 3/10 miles to be precise, as well as 53,050 meters of swimming in the pool and another 356 to be ridden on the tri-bike. 

We’ll be busy these next 13 weeks.

But this Saturday is our final 5K of the summer race season, and with the exception of perhaps a Thanksgiving Day Turkey Trot, our final 5K of 2011.

Frankly this weekend was not a “race weekend” when I put together my training schedule.  Typically after two hard weeks of training or racing in a row, I have a “step-back” week, where I decrease the volume of my training and the intensity allowing my body to adjust to the increase in mileage and “stress” on my body preparing for the Marathon.

After this past week’s 85 miles of running and cycling, including Sunday’s 17-mile long run in 80 degree temperatures – so hot and humid that my running shoes were soaked in sweat by mile 11 – I could actually hear my fit squishing on every stride over the final 6 miles of the run – I was ready for an “easy” week.

But after learning about Jaylie and her battle with a serious form of brain cancer, the timing of this race, just two days before the anniversary of Dom’s passing away last year, and the fight that my mother is in right now, battling brain cancer of her own – I needed to make some adjustments.

We won’t exactly be running on “rested legs” on Saturday morning, in fact we’ll need to run 2 or 3miles before the race and another 2 or 3 afterwards to get in our scheduled Saturday distance for this point in our training plan – but we are going to let it all hang out over those 3.1 race miles for Jaylie.

Jaylie – you are a brave, brave little girl.  I wish you and your family the absolute best as you continue to receive treatments that we all hope will allow you to be with us for a long, long time.  I’m not sure how well we are going to race on Saturday, but it won’t be for lack of trying. 

Those 19 minutes on Saturday +/- are for you.  See you there.

Comments
  1. Jodi says:

    I’m tired just from reading all of that! You are getting in some major training and races! I know you will bring it to each and every one of them! It’s hard to believe it has almost been a year since Dom’s passing. There isn’t a run/ride I go on that I don’t think about Dom and his family as well as you and your family Joe. Continued prayers from Ohio being sent your way. I can’t believe I will be 1/2 way through my marathon training as of Sunday…crazy stuff! Thank you again for everything you do for me!!

    • Joseph Marruchella says:

      Hi Jodi! Time is really flying by in your training calendar! Can’t wait for your race day, I am almost more excited than you are. You have really been hammering it. Great, great job. You are going to be ready on race day.

      Next time we put together a schedule for you, we’ll put in some key races along the way – I think that racing fast during training really helps make marathon race pace seem a lot more “comfortable” on race morning.

      I’m really looking forward to the Rock n’ Roll half in Denver to see how we run at elevation …. if we can run anything around 1:27:30 – 1:28:30 there – I’ll know we’re ready for NYC.

Leave a Reply

