Runner Tracking – New York City Marathon

Posted: October 28, 2011 in Pace and Racing
Tags: , ,

We’re now 10 days away from the 2011 New York City Marathon.  The first look at extended forecast weather reports are starting to come into focus.  Typically I don’t start thinking about the weather until Thursday before a Sunday Marathon as things will change quite a bit between now and then.  No sense obsessing over something for a whole extra week when it is so very hard to predict what race day will be like this far in advance.

For what it’s worth, they are predicting starting temperatures around 45 degrees going up to the low 60’s in the afternoon.  Variable winds, 20% chance of rain.  It does however look like there will be rain in the area on Saturday, so anything can happen on race day.

As far as keeping up with your favorite athlete during the race itself, whether you want to track the elite men and women, yours truly or Apollo Ohno from start to finish you will have your choice this year between following along via a traditional web browser, a text message service or a tracking App that will be available through iTunes.

Screen Shot from Runner Tracking Page

My recent experience with the runner applications at the Boston, Austin and Denver Rock n’ Roll marathons have been spotty at best.  But once again I believe that Dawn and I will give it a try so that she can keep tabs on me as I make my way from Staten Island to Brooklyn to Queens to the Bronx and on into Manhattan for the finish.

Click HERE to access the athlete tracking page on the ING New York City Marathon website.

My start time will be at 9:40 a.m. as part of the 1st wave of marathoners to start the race.

We are racing out of the Green Start area in corral 3.  This is the first corral behind the elite local competitors in the Green Start Area.  Corral 1 starts behind the 199 Professionals on the Blue Course.  Corral 2 starts behind the 100 Sub-Elite marathoners on the Orange Course and then our group behind the 499 Local competitive runners (think sub 3:00 hour marathoners) on the Green.

The Orange, Blue and Green groups run on their own route until the 8th mile of the race when the three courses merge into one.  At that point the congestion of the mass start has subsided and all of the marathoners follow the blue line, painted the night before the marathon along the course to the finish.

It appears that I will be off with about 3,000 runners at the start – making the marathon with more than 45,000 runners much “smaller” for me, which will be a huge positive.  The hope is that I can find my rhythm early and easily and not spend a lot of time zigging and zagging looking for open space.

If that does happen I am becoming comfortable with the idea of running a slow opening two miles up and then down the Verrazzano Bridge and not worrying about my splits until mile 3.  Any time lost I will make up by conserving my energy until later in the race.

If you are following along next Sunday do not be alarmed if I come through the half-way point in 1:32:00-1:34:00 – that is o.k., in fact that is what I am hoping to do.  Running out front early and “banking time” is not the recipe for a fast marathon.  Even, consistent splits over the first 15-16 miles is what I am going to shoot for – then over the final 10 miles when runners begin suffering, we are going to start doing our thing.

Making up 2-3 minutes over 10 miles is nothing.  If the weather proves to be favorable, you can expect our closing half of the race to be our fastest ever on the backside of a marathon. 

That’s the plan anyway.  Of course this is one race where expecting the unexpected is part of the deal.

I’ve had a lot of people comment on the why I succeed “mantra” that I shared at the bottom of the last post.  I will include a few of these throughout marathon week as we make our way to New York.

Enjoy!

 

Comments
  1. nyflygirl says:

    I’m actually in the local competitive corral in the green start-totally expect to see you zooming by me in mile 1 🙂

Leave a Reply

