New York City Marathon – Travel Day

Posted: November 2, 2011 in Pace and Racing
Tags: , ,

Wednesday started pretty early as I had a 4-mile run to put in the books before we got ready to head to the airport for a 7:00 a.m. flight to Houston with a connection there to New York City.

Travel delays notwithstanding I should be landing in New York at 1:52 p.m.

Because you can never be too careful when it comes to race day in addition to the usual work items tucked into my backpack/briefcase also found inside this trip are my Adidas Aeigis II Racers for Marathon morning as well as my shorts, singlet, socks, runderwear and gloves that I plan on racing in on race day.

It’s not that I don’t trust the fine folks at Continental – uh, I mean, United Airlines – I do.  But when it comes to race day, you just can’t take any chances.  The last few days before a marathon I try to manage outside stressors the best I can.  I try to not over commit to things, leave myself plenty of time to get to the places I need to be, get plenty of sleep and just chill.

Now sleep today wasn’t perfect, but we have plenty of time to catch up by sleeping in an hour or two later than usual on Thursday, Friday and Saturday mornings.  The other thing I make sure of is I do not let my race gear out of my sight.

I’m sure I would be able to find most everything I would need in New York if my bag was lost, but it just doesn’t make sense to risk it.  In the case of my race shoes, not only are they exactly the pair that I need, they are also broken in perfectly for the marathon with just 17.1 miles on them to this point which include racing in them at the Denver Rock N’ Roll Half-Marathon three weeks ago.

I know there are no seams that will rub my feet the wrong way or any stitching that could become problematic two hours into my race.  I also am secure knowing that those shoes are tucked safely in my bag at my feet from Austin to New York City.

Nothing new on race day – rule number one in marathoning.

So as our plane heads East to the sunrise and hopefully a best ever marathon, enjoy your Wednesday.  I’ll be checking in from the Expo on Thursday after we pick up our Bib and our race packet from the Expo.  I’ll see if  I can get a photo or two with any of the celebrities and elite marathoners who are sure to be there.  I’ll also have my eye out for a particular Olympic Speed Skater who we have designs on taking down on Sunday.

I’m coming for you Apollo.

 

Comments
  1. tbrush3 says:

    I understand about the gear Joe. I get so crazy when traveling! Can’t lose my gear! I can’t wait to see what you do Sunday. Best of luck Joe.

  2. Kristen S says:

    I do the same thing when traveling for a race, I always carry on my race gear! Safe travels and Good Luck you will do GREAT!

Leave a Reply

