NYC Marathon Shakeout

Posted: November 5, 2011 in Training
Tags: ,

37 degrees early Saturday morning and an unknown runner leaves his hotel without a word.

In a huge city where anonymity comes easy, I did what I do 5 mornings every week. Laced ’em up and went for my run.

I ran up Seventh Avenue to Cental Park South and made my way along the race course to the finish line.

With little fanfare, no fist pumps or arms raised in triumph I made a slow turn to the left and ran back to the hotel.

Just 2.3 miles, an easy shakeout run to burn off a little nervous energy.

Nothing more.

7:00 min/mile pace felt free and easy, which bodes well for tomorrow.

9:40 a.m. Boom goes the dynamite.

I’m fairly certain people are going to notice us tomorrow.

Comments
  1. Jodi says:

    Good luck tomorrow Joe! I know you are going to crush it Coach!

Leave a Reply

