A look back on 2011

Posted: December 18, 2011 in Motivation
Tags: , , ,

Just two weeks remain in 2011.  Hard to believe just how fast the last year has flown by.

Every one of my friends who have children warned me that in the blink of an eye Landry would transform from a tiny little infant who I stayed home from work last December to care for as Dawn went back to work to a walking, talking little person.  The time was precious, I needed to pay close attention and make the most of it.

For the most part I have tried my best to do just that.  Spend special time with Dawn and Landry, drink in all of the milestones and try not to “miss anything” major.  Rolling over, standing up, first steps, first words, swim lessons, pretending to be an elephant, now watching her run for the first time through the house – I’ve been there for all of it and it has been everything I could have ever asked for.  Better in fact, as I truly had no idea just how special this first 15 months would be with Landry.

Dawn and I can hardly wait for what is next.

This morning I had an 18 miler on the schedule, wrapping up our first week of Boston Training with a 58 mile run week.  Needless to say we are off to a strong start, most of my previous training plans did not have me reaching a long run of 18 miles until week 10.  I did not reach 58 total miles until week number 13 on the way to the starting line in New York.

Exiting New York healthy after a huge performance there has really allowed us to springboard ahead and ratchet things up to another level for Boston.  Barring injury, illness or a physical set-back – we should be prepared like we have never been before for the Marathon in April.  Already I am envisioning the ride to Hopkinton on the bus early that morning, surrounded by exceptional marathoners knowing that with very few exceptions, nobody is better prepared to race to the limits of their capabilities than I am. 

We will be there to go all in and leave a permanent mark on the storied Boston Marathon Course.  A day very similar to New York where years later we will be able to look back on that day and know that we were the best we have ever been.

Sunday’s long run gave me a great deal of time to reflect on the past year, the running/training goals I had set prior to New Year’s Eve 2011 and it made me wonder just how I was doing in achieving my goals put to paper close to 12 months earlier.

My goals for the previous year:

Goals for 2011

1.     Run more than 2,011 miles in the coming year.

        (CHECK – I have run 2,035 miles in 2011)

2.     Be running healthy and injury free the entire year.

        (MISS – I had minor knee inflammation that cost me 4 weeks of running this year)

3.     Re-qualify for the Boston Marathon.

        (CHECK – 3:15:01 Austin in February, 3:08:09 New York in November)

4.     Set New PR’s for the Mile, 5K, 10K, Half-Marathon and Marathon.

        (5:07, 18:12, 37:30, 1:23:55, 3:08:09 – CHECK, CHECK, CHECK, CHECK, CHECK)

5.     Run the ING NYC Marathon in November and PR.

        (CHECK – Marathon PR by 6:52)

6.     Complete a 5K with Landry (in her jogging stroller).

        (MISS – Hopefully we’ll rectify this on New Year’s Day)

7.     Incorporate track workouts in my training this year.

        (MISS – Hill repeats remained in lieu of track work)

8.     Take my first swim lessons.

        (CHECK – Started swim lessons in April)

9.     Complete a sprint triathlon.

        (CHECK – Debut triathlon in July 1:13:20)

10.  Continue to honor Dom and raise money for his children’s education.

        (CHECK – we raised additional funds throughout the year for Sierra and Nic0)

Looking back 2011 has been a pretty successful year when it comes to goal achievement.  Priorities always change over time – that is something that all of us need to deal with.  But I believe that the exercise of setting goals is a good one to go through each year, all the while knowing that you may have some “misses” on the list, such as adding track work was for me this year.

I realized that my speed was still improving without it, and I could continue my hill work without risking injury on the track.  It was a win-win to more or less cross that goal off of my list without having completed it.

The others were all goals that we worked hard to achieve, only falling short by spending a few weeks on the injured list last March and the stars not aligning for Landry and I to do our first race together.  That last goal is one that hopefully we can cross off of our to-do lists during the Resolution Run on New Year’s Day.

Goals for 2012?  My list has been forming in my head over the past few months.  A PR in Boston is sure to be on the list as will the completion of our first Half-Ironman this October.  As for the rest, I guess you’ll have to stop back on New Year’s Eve to find out.

There will be 10 of them, a couple will “scare me” just a bit – as after all.  If your goals don’t scare you a little, you aren’t dreaming big enough.

Comments
  1. Love this! Looks like you had an awesome year!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi Jocelyn! Thanks so much for the visit and the message – was kind of nice to take a look back on the last year and realize just how much we crossed off of our “wish list”. Sometimes it’s hard to remember just how successful you’ve been without taking a moment to really look back over your shoulder every once in awhile. Happy Holidays!

  2. David H. says:

    You’ve had an awesome year Joe. It’s been great to watch you hit most of your main goals and to watch Landry grow up! Kids definitely make things fly by. I hope you enjoy these last 2 weeks of the year!

    • joerunfordom says:

      David – you are not kidding! Landry is becoming such a big girl, I just wish I could freeze time and keep her this age for awhile longer. She is such a cutie pie. Best to you and your family this holiday season. Run strong my friend!

Leave a Reply

