Goals for 2012

Posted: December 31, 2011 in Motivation
Tags: , ,

New Year’s Eve?  Seriously?

Man, where is the time going?  This is such a tough time of year for me to stay on top of everything going on.  Travel, family commitments, days at work, days off of work and of course the usual grind of training and before you know it – poof.  Another holiday season is over and New Year’s Day is upon us once again.

I remember last year going through this process and I felt like I had Soooo much time to chase down my top ten goals from 2011.  I did a pretty good job in hindsight, but I certainly could have used another month or two to get those last couple of goals locked up.

This year I am ahead of the game from the planning standpoint, but when I look at the list I compiled below over the past few weeks I have noticed a few trends when compared to previous years.

1.     My goals are getting more and more specific.

2.     My goals are getting more and more difficult.

Last year’s list for example had goals to “Take my first swimming lessons” and “Complete my first sprint distance triathlon”.

Huge accomplishments for sure as learning to swim remains one of the most challenging things I have ever accomplished athletically, but now that the groundwork has been laid, the triathlon dominates some of my bigger goals for 2012.

Without further ado, here is the list:

The first goal remains the one that can make all of the other goals possible.  I know that if I am able to string together 12 months of solid, injury free training and racing, I can make huge gains in the areas where I need to improve – The bike and the swim – and keep my “secret weapon” when it comes to the triathlon – the run – right where I need it to be.

Run volume will be a huge key to my success in 2012.  Being able to log more than 2,012 miles over the course of the year will be a great accomplishment with the increase in my cross-training activities.

PR at Boston.  This is a must-have goal for me.  I want this one badly.

The Holland, TX 5K is a small race, but one of my favorites.  If I am able to win my Age Group this year it would make four years in a row.  Normally I race the clock and myself as you can never predict or control who else shows up on race day.  This race however is one I want to win.

Badly.

I am going to really focus on speed work after Boston and try to make a run at a 4:59 mile at the Congress Avenue mile this spring.  This very well be my last, best chance to runt that kind of time.

When I return to Jack’s Sprint Triathlon in New Braunfels, it will be my return to my first ever Tri.  I want to race well and break the 1:13:00 mark at that race which would be a :20 improvement over my debut there last summer.

Breaking 2:30 in one of the two Olympic Distance Triathlons on my race calendar for the summer will be a very tall order, but one I am willing to go all in to train for and chase.  It’s not going to be easy, but I think with hard work in the pool I’ve got a real shot.

100 Miles on the bike seems ridiculous to me at this point.  I know however that if I am serious about the last goal on my list.  I am going to need a ride or two at this distance so that racing 56 miles does not seem so daunting.

Number 9 is a “carry-over” goal from 2011.  Landry and I never got a chance to race together this year as she was still a bit too young at the earlier 5K races in the past year.  When she was old enough, we were racing 10 K’s, half-marathons and marathons, so the stars never aligned for the two of us.  We’ll be getting this goal out of the way early in 2012.

The biggest goal is of course saved for last.  Half-Ironman.  Barring injury, we’ll be taking on the 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike, 13.1 mile run or Ironman 70.3 as it is known at Longhorn this October.

70.3 miles or racing, 5+ hours of swimming, biking, running.  That is one medal that I am looking forward to earning.

Happy New Year everyone!  Get those lists ready, only 365 training days left!

 

Comments
  1. Erin Ruyle says:

    That’s a good looking list, Joe. I’m right there with you on wanting the Boston PR. Happy New Year – no doubt in my mind that 2012 will bring you much success.

    • Joseph Marruchella says:

      Happy New Year Erin! I have a feeling your marathon PR doesn’t stand a chance at Boston! Best to you and Dan.

  2. David H. says:

    Looks like great goals for the year. Can’t wait to follow you along once again, and to meet at Shamrock!

    • Joseph Marruchella says:

      Thanks David! That is going to be a great race weekend! I wish you great health and a Happy New Year!

  3. traintotri says:

    That’s an ambitious list, but I have no doubt that you’ll check off every item this year. Best wishes for 2012!

    • Joseph Marruchella says:

      Hi JT! Thanks for the visit and the message – there are a couple of them out there that scare me a little, but I think with some hard work and a little bit of luck here and there we have a real shot at accomplishing the goals on the list. Makes you wonder for a second what 2013 might look like …. Take good care and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

