Goodbye to an old friend

Posted: June 28, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags: ,

Whenever something comes into your life it seems that you are so excited about the “newness” of it all that you do not spend very much time at all thinking about how you will feel when it ends.  Perhaps it is human nature that we do not want to think about such things as it reminds us of our own mortality.  Or maybe it is just our way of putting off the inevitable.

But on Monday with the ring of the doorbell and a plop of a box on our front porch the time had come for me to retire my running watch and move on to a new one.  I had performed CPR on my old watch numerous times over the past few months.  Waking it up from the dead.  Upgrading the hardware and software, doing a hard-reset to the system.  But I was just in denial.  It was time.

Last Sunday when the watch would not wake up for the run portion of the Lake Pflugerville Triathlon I knew that we were at the end of the road.  So I went online, searched for the best deal and then …

I ordered the exact same model Garmin.

My watch had been good to me.  We had covered some serious mileage together.  Ran and raced better, faster and farther than I ever have before.

We ran in Mexico, Canada, Hawaii and 27 of our 48 contiguous states.

We ran 7 marathons together, 8 half-marathons, 2 ultra races and too many short distance events to count.

We ran across the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco, raced across the Cooper River Bridge in Charleston, SC.  through a grove of Eucalyptus trees on Kauai and along the shores of the Gulf of Mexico.  We ran in the snow, rain, wind and Texas heat.  We even ran silently alone together on Christmas Morning this year to visit Dom at the cemetery.

Together we went out the door for 887 runs that covered 7,082.75 miles.  Essentially across the United States from coast to coast.  Twice.

We climbed 438,669 feet of hills together.  That is 83 miles straight up.

My watch was good to me and in turn it was raised in triumph as we crossed the finish line this fall at the New York City Marathon with our personal best in that event with Dawn and Landry looking on.

New York City Marathon 2011

I’m going to miss my old watch.  But as they say, nothing lasts forever.  I only hope that my new one brings me half of the enjoyment and triumph that my old one did.

To the last 7,000+ miles … thank you my friend.  It wouldn’t have been the same without you.

Comments
  1. robin says:

    Enjoy the new watch!

  2. Dave Spell says:

    Nice tribute to a good friend. I am also in the market for a new Garmin. My 205 barely holds an hour charge. I have been fighting the change but the end is near. Thanks for the post it gives me comfort that I am not the only one moving on from an old friend!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Hi David! I’ve been a loyal 405/410 user and love the watch. It can now hold charge for 8 hours in run mode, much longer in “sleep” mode and with the 610 and 910 out, the price is ow down to $200. Pretty good deal for a power-user like you!

  3. David H. says:

    No reason to change if that’s what you like! I actually had a 205 that was nearing the end of its life, then got a 405 off eBay that works well, but the power doesn’t hold long. I actually just bought a brand new 210 and hope to get it by the end of the week — it’s my first purchase of a brand new watch. I’ve gone through 3 mostly good ebay experiences, but I didn’t want to do that again.

Leave a Reply

