Things are starting to get interesting

Posted: August 5, 2012 in Training
Tags: , ,

Well here we are.  It’s Sunday and we’ve just wrapped up a 143-mile training week.

Three swims, three bike rides and 5 runs including 16 hot grueling miles for our Sunday long run.

That is the easiest week we will have until race week for Kerrville.

The next 7 weeks shape up like this:

144 miles.

155 miles.

156 miles.

173 miles.

174 miles.

185 miles.

170 miles.

114 miles – 70.3 of those will take place all during Sunday’s race.

That is a lot of mileage between here and the finish line – 1,271 of them to be exact.  A lot of them will be no to low impact in the pool and on the bike, but we will still be running what amounts to a marathon training schedule for many a runner in the 53-60 mile per week range.  I think the plan we have in front of us is a sound one and even though true “rest days” are absent, I do have a couple of days each week that feature only an easy run workout with an afternoon completely off afterwards.

The goal is to keep the easy days “easy”, make the hard days “hard” and show up to Kerrville in the shape of our life, prepared to compete to the best of our abilities across all three disciplines.  Swim, bike and run.

The road to Kerrville is certainly not paved with unicorns and rainbows.  I have a lot of hard work ahead of me, but I feel totally in control right now.  That is what a sound training plan can do for you.

It eliminates the wiggle room.  It provides the focus and structure that makes deciding what your next workout will be a non-issue.  I need to continue to monitor my body and the accumulating bumps and bruises – even make sure that mentally I am staying sharp and not getting too worn down.  But on a daily basis I don’t have a lot of decisions to make other than what pair of running shoes make the most sense for that day’s type of workout or if I want to swim in my black jammers or my blue ones.

The rest is spelled out.  I’ve done all the shopping and I have the recipe.  Now all I have to do is put all the ingredients together and bake the cake.  7:36 a.m. on September 30th we should have a pretty good idea how things are going to turn out.  I’ll just set the knob to “Kick-Ass” and press start.

Should be ready in 5 hours and 15 minutes.  Give or take a few.

We’ll then take a week to recover and it will all be about the Houston Marathon.  We will be 15 weeks away from race day – which including a 2-week taper period before the race, gives us 13 weeks of focused marathon training.  I won’t swim except to help aid recovery and I won’t bike unless I want to get some cross-training in to work out the kinks.

We will go back to a 5-day run schedule, with 6 runs per week including “doubles” on Tuesdays.  But on Monday and Friday we will essentially be “off” with the exception of some strength and core workouts at the gym.

22 weeks to Houston and what will perhaps be our last attempt at breaking 3 hours in the marathon.  It sounds like a lot of time, but I know that before I know it I am going to look up and race day is going to be staring me and my friend Brendon squarely in the face.  I’ve never beaten Brendon in a footrace at any distance.  January 13, 2013 probably won’t be much different as my goal is to simply stay on his left shoulder for 25 miles.  If I can do that I know we will be on sub 3 hour pace when it becomes every man for himself.

I hope Brendon blows past me and crushes Houston in under 3 hours going away.

I also hope that I’m right on his heels watching him do it.  That will mean we are well within striking distance of our “A+ Goal”.  The only goal we have set in any event, at any distance that we have not met.

You never know what is going to happen on race day as the weather, illness, injury and just an “off day” can always rear its head unexpectedly.  I do know one thing for certain however.

It is definitely going to be interesting.

Leave a Reply

