Happy Birthday Landry!

Posted: August 29, 2012 in Uncategorized
Tags:

Dear Landry,

I know you’re not quite yet a reader of Daddy’s blog – although you do check out the pictures every once in awhile on the iPad.

I just wanted to wish you a happy birthday today and let you know that your Mommy and I could not possibly love you any more.

Two years ago, you were born on a Sunday. I remember the day of the week because of course my little girl would be born on a “long run” day. Don’t let your Mommy fool you, I did cut my run short that morning from 14 to 8 miles to be on the safe side ….

The other thing that I will remember is that you were born faaaaast! Mommy and I walked in the front door of the hospital just a couple of minutes past 8:00 a.m., and I was holding you in my arms at 9:51. Less than two hours later, about the time it takes Daddy to run 17 or 18 miles on race day. Hopefully down in Houston in January it will be 18.

Both of those omens bode very well for you when you take up running like Daddy – you already have a thing for running shoes.

Landry testing Dad’s new running shoes

Watching you grow up every day has been one of the coolest experiences of my life. I remember when I could hold you on one forearm, and your head to your toes did not reach from my hand to my elbow. Now you are such a big girl I can hardly believe it. You walk, talk, run, spell, swim, recite the alphabet, walk the dog and even count to ten in two languages. I think it took me until I was 14 or 15 before I could do that.

In the last year you saw the finish of the New York City and Boston Marathons – not too many two-year-olds can say they have done that. Heck, not too many 45-year-olds like your Daddy can either.

Dawn and Landry in the Grandstand at NYCM

Landry and Dad – Post Race in Boston

Back in February you got to meet your buddies Elmo, Rosita and the rest of the Sesame Street gang – we’ll be catching up with them again this winter when they come back to Austin.

Landry, Elmo and Rosita

Overall, the last year has been a pretty good one for you – I promise to do my very best to make sure the next year is even better.

I love you Landry – thank you for being the greatest daughter that any Mommy and Daddy have ever had.

-Daddy

Comments
  1. Katie says:

    So sweet! Happy Birthday Landry! My ladies recently had birthdays too. 5 and 2! Just crazy!

  2. David H. says:

    Hope it’s a great birthday!!

Leave a Reply

