Taper Sickness …. Again.

Posted: September 20, 2012 in Training
Tags: ,

We are now just 10 days away from the Kerrville Half-Ironman and we are sick.

Virginia Beach half-marathon in March? Sick up until race day. Result. 1:23:46 PR

New York City Marathon in November? Sick up until race day. Result. 3:08:09 PR

Getting sick during the taper is not necessarily “normal”, but it is unfortunately common.

After pushing the limits of your training, sacrificing sleep, (my morning alarm clock was set for 4:15 a.m. for 33 of the last 35 days before the taper), our body gets run down and you become susceptible to catching a bug.

After a solid weekend of training I had a rest day scheduled for Monday to kick off the taper for Kerrville. I slept in until 6:15 a.m., went to work and by Noon I was home achy with a fever. I did not shake it after two days and by Wednesday I was at the Doctor’s office getting a prescription for 10 days of antibiotics to clear my system.

We have had to skip all of our scheduled workouts this week with the exception of one 8.5 mile run, (which went great by the way) with luck we should be able to get in a bike, run and swim this weekend and our final 5 workouts next week.

Instead of stressing out about this I am instead staying very calm about it.

The two things I have going for me is that for one, I know this week’s workouts don’t mean a thing. There are basically zero fitness gains made in the final 13 days before a race. Less than 1% occurs. However, rest and rejuvenation can improve performance by as much as 10% with a proper taper period.

Secondly, history tells me that I am going to be just fine on race day. When that horn blasts and we take our first stroke in the water the switch inside of us will flip to “Go-Time” and without thinking about it, we will start racing.

When we exit the water and get on our bike we will flip the second switch and go into “battle-mode” and start ticking off mile after mile after mile up to 56.

Upon dismount, we will change out shoes, flip the switch one final time to “beast-mode” and run the toughest half-marathon of our life.

Over 5 hours of racing will provide us with plenty of things to think about next Sunday – but one thing we will not be concerned with will be a handful of workouts we missed during our taper.

Rest, hydrate and eat right. Good advice for overcoming a virus. It is also a good prescription for a tapering Triathlete.

I could just do without this scratchy throat and fever ….

10 days to Kerrville. Clear eyes, full heart, can’t lose.

Comments
  1. Ally says:

    That’s right !! Beast mode. I’ll be watching !!!

  2. Jodi H says:

    I know you will be great! Can’t wait to hear all about your race!! Seems to be lots of things going around right now. I have had one major cold this week and am finally feeling better. I didn’t run a single step after Sunday’s long run for fear of this cold hanging on too long!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Thanks Jodi! I’m actually feeling pretty solid today. Just a bit worn down. I’m going to continue to move forward with my scheduled workouts and get ready to kill it next weekend. Smart move on your part to back off a bit, I hope you dodge that bug that is going around Jodi. Best to you! J

  3. Erin Ruyle says:

    Hope you feel better! Better sickness than injury,,,

Leave a Reply

