Boston

Posted: April 17, 2013 in Motivation

Sometimes you just know that you need to do something, even when you can’t really articulate exactly why.

Just a week ago if you asked me if I ever had plans to run another Boston Marathon I would have told you no.  It had nothing to do with Monday’s events or even the far-fetched notion that something like Monday was even possible, let alone likely.

I had simply been there and done that.  I wanted to look for new challenges, new opportunities to test my limits.  Different races, different goals.

Now if you ask me that question I’m inclined to say something much different.  In fact depending on timing should my Steamtown Marathon time be a “Boston Time” – which is fairly likely barring something unforeseen as my 45-49 year old qualifying standard is now 3:25:00 – and if registration for 2014 is still open after that race – some day may very well turn into next 362 days from now.

Landry and Dad - Post Race in Boston 2012

Landry and Dad – Post Race in Boston 2012

I’ve talked to a few runner friends and we all are saying the same thing.

The race next year is going to be run and it is going to be bigger and better than ever.  It is once again going to be a day of celebration in Boston and it is going to be an opportunity for the human spirit to conquer more than just 26 miles, 385 yards of road from Hopkinton to Boston.  It is going to be run for all the right reasons and there is a huge part of me who wants to be there.

Supporting our sport.  Supporting the families effected physically and emotionally from the devastation this week.  Supporting Boston and its tremendous citizens who treat “Boston Marathoners” of all shapes, sizes, talent levels, speed and ability like royalty on Marathon Monday.

Certainly things will be different next year and I can promise that there is no way that I would allow Dawn and Landry to be there standing around in the finish area no matter how many precautions are taken.  And there will be some major precautions.  I just can’t imagine struggling in Brookline with more than 5 miles to go to the finish worrying about the safety of my girls.

Just not going to happen.

If they make the trip, they can perhaps be hanging out in Wellesley or Kenmore Square or maybe they will just enjoy the city while Dad is off doing his thing and we will all connect after I run the finest 3/10 of a mile in road racing down Boylston Street the way I want to run every step of my Fall Marathon at Steamtown.

Fearlessly.

Doing anything but allows those responsible for such cowardly acts to “win” and that is just completely unacceptable.

More than likely it will just be me and my runner buddies who descend on Boston on a mission to help restore some sense of normalcy to a city and an event that is going to want that more than anything.  We have a long way to go between now and then and a lot of things that will need to happen to place us on Main Street in Hopkinton, MA next year.

That said, I can see it all falling into place for us to be there.  Fearlessly.

Who’s with me?

Comments
  1. Regina says:

    Joe I may have to organize a LM Class of 85 trip up to Beantown to cheer you on next year…

  2. Jodi H. says:

    I am very much with you Joe! Of course I have some major time to take off my best marathon to qualify but I am with you in spirit if I can’t be in person. I suppose I would have to run a marathon before October/November to even have a shot at running Boston 2014. Great perspective you have placed on recent events. That picture of you and Landry is priceless!!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Jodi – like most things in life, if it wasn’t going to test us, the reward wouldn’t be so tremendous. You pick the race, I’ll coach you – how does that sound? Steamtown?

      • Jodi H says:

        I like the sounds of you coaching me Joe! Tell me more about steamtown (dates, course, etc). You are right about life testing us to make the reward tremendous!

      • joerunfordom says:

        Jodi – Steamtown is in Scranton, PA on October 13th. Training would start in Mid-June. Point to point, net downhill course, one of the top Boston Qualifiers from a percentage standpoint every year.

        It is ranked the 6th best marathon by Runner’s World for what that is worth. I’m going to be there chasing 2:59:00 – it’s capped at 3,000 registrants, about 2,600 will end up on the starting line.

        Sets up pretty nicely for an Ohio Girl 🙂

  3. Dave spell says:

    Joe
    Count me in. I agree that 2014 is bigger then a race.

    • joerunfordom says:

      I’ve got your first beverage after the race David. Congrats by the way on a tremendous effort Monday. I know ow it seems inconsequential, but you were a warrior out there.

  4. Terri Rivera says:

    I’d never qualify for Boston but I wil definitely be there in spirit to cheer you on!

  5. Andy B. says:

    I’m thinking about running it as well. I may try to get a fundraising entry or switch up my half in September to a full to get a BQ. I’ll keep you posted.

  6. onelittlejill says:

    I was already planning a trip with some friends to Boston next year since we have a few friends running it. They still plan to run, we still plan to go. You just cannot stop runners!

    • joerunfordom says:

      Amen Jill. I’m going to high five every hand on Boylston Street on the way in. My time can be whatever it ends up being. I will have mad respect for those lining the course next year and every year at every event I ever run again.

  7. Winston Kenton says:

    Now you’ve got me seriously considering it too!

  8. Karla Gregg says:

    I’m with you Joe!! Boston 2014. I’m qualified already and just waiting for registration!

  9. fred alvarez says:

    Joe, as long as my aging body holds out, I’m with you!! — fred alvarez

Leave a Reply

