Archive for May 7, 2010

We’ve got ourselves into a little bit of a pickle as Run for Dom rolls on toward our goal of raising $26,200 for Dom’s battle against cancer.  The fact of the matter is we are just too darn close to our goal to stop now.  Each $1,000 raised has represented one mile of the 26.2 miles that make up a marathon.

Today as our effort closes in on mile 22 we have less than $4,500 remaining.  Certainly we can’t give up now.  So I signed up for another race on Thursday.

Now I know there is a fine line between crazy and stupid.  I’m pretty sure I came within a whisker of it by running two major marathons just 13 days apart over the past two weeks. 

But the fact of the matter is – I am a runner.  That’s who I am.  That’s what I do.  So in two weeks we’re going to take on a very different test than running another 26.2 miles on May 22nd.  We have signed up to compete in the Congress Avenue Mile.

Now all you distance runners out there know that there is a big difference between us and those “sprinters”.  The marathoner is about toughness, stamina and endurance.  The sprinter is about fast-twitch muscles, speed and a strong finishing kick. 

I don’t have any of those.

So over the next two weeks we are going to try to transform a plow-horse into a thoroughbred.  A Hummer into a Ferrari.  I know two weeks isn’t a lot of time, but I’m starting to feel pretty good after licking my wounds this week from marathon number two.  I feel as though I am up for another challenge.

The Congress Avenue Mile has a rich and illustrious history.  Almost two decades ago, RunTex Owner Paul Carrozza created this spectacular race by bringing in the world’s top milers for a straight shot through Downtown Austin with only one objective:  To run fast

Sub 4:00 miles were plentiful on this friendly course (slightly downhill for the first 1200 meters), and a world-class event was born. 

A few of the great milers who have raced this prestigious event include:

  • Steve Scott: American Record Holder in the Mile (3:47.69) and Olympic finalist
  • Sydney Maree: American Record Holder in the 1500 (3:29.77) and 3:48 miler
  • Clyde Colenso: NCAA Champion and 3:54 miler
  • Jeff Atkinson: Olympic 1500 meter finalist and 3:52 miler
  • Doug Padilla: 3:54 miler and U.S. Olympian
  • Paul Donovan: Olympian and 3:55 miler
  • Michal Bartoszak: CONGRESS AVE. MILE RECORD HOLDER (3:47.26, 1992)
  • Jason Lunn: USA National Champion (3:49.10, 2003)

Now I don’t know the first thing about running a timed mile at maximum effort and speed.  But I didn’t know much about running back to back marathons until this past weekend either, and that worked out pretty good.  So I am going to get my body back to 100% health next week and then prepare for a “Ricky Bobby” kind of race the following Saturday.

I mean, who doesn’t wanna go fast?

The race is broken up into several heats:

8:00am – Females 40 and Over
8:10am – Males 40 and Over
8:20am – Females 39 and Under
8:30am – Males 39 and Under
9:00am – Born to Run Family Fun Run (Untimed)
9:30am – Boys and Girls Elementary School (Ages 10 and Under)
9:40am – Boys and Girls Middle School (11-13 years old)
9:55am – Girls High School Open (14-17 years old)
10:05am – Boys High School Open (14-17 years old)
10:15am – Open Elite Females (Sub 5:00 minutes per mile)
10:25am – Open Elite Males (Sub 4:25 minutes per mile)
10:35am – Texas State High School Girls Mile Championship
10:45am – Texas State High School Boys Mile Championship

The good news is we won’t have to wait around long going off in heat #2.  Looking back at some of the times from the 2009 race – I’m not sure I would want to race after I witnessed a 12 year old boy turn in a 5:19 mile to win his age group. 

I’ve never run a timed mile in my life – so my expectations for the 22nd are impossible to even compute at this point.  My only hope is that my Marathon Maniac’s singlet arrives prior to race day.  Maybe that will give me a little “intimidation” factor when we toe the line at 8:10 a.m.

One thing I know for sure is that I should be on my way to breakfast shortly after 8:15.  At least I hope so.

To help save Joe from himself and make a difference in the lives of Dom, Val, Sierra and Nico, please click below to support Run for Dom:

http://www.runfordom.com/donate.html