Archive for January 20, 2012

I run with music.

A lot.

Last year not counting races, where I typically leave my iPod Nano on the shelf, I ran for 256 hours, 59 minutes and 52 seconds.  Essentially 10 and ¾ days I spent doing nothing but running.

Along for the ride was my 6th generation iPod Nano which I truly love.  It is tiny, lightweight and holds a ton of music.  More music than I own or could possibly ever listen to.

There is only one problem – where to put the darn thing.

The folks at Apple designed the product with a built in clip, that is tremendous if you are walking through an airport, lounging at home, working at your desk – but if you are about to head out into the elements to run, cycle, cut the grass or any other activity where sweat meets the possibility of rain, you’ve got problems.

My solution, like many other runners out there is to hit play on my device, tuck it into a small Ziploc snack bag, close that up, fold the package as small as possible, then tuck it into my the rear pocket on my shorts or running tights – or on long run days, into my hydra-belt.

I’m then on my way, cords trailing behind me and as long as the wind is not up blowing them back into my arms, I’m in pretty good shape.  There have been many a morning however where I asked myself, “Man, there has to be a better way doesn’t there?”

Enter Steve Petit and the folks at Vibewired™.

Vibewired™ is a music transport system that is unlike any product on the market.

The patented 1-inch clip design for the iPod Nano carrying case secures the device in a water-resistant pouch and then clips universally around the back of any adjustable hat.

Photo Compliments of Vibewired

To take the product to an entirely different level, the package includes 10-inch long Vibewired earphones that keep the wires out of harm’s way, eliminating the additional 2-3 feet of unneeded cord.

They also make a product for the iPod Shuffle.

Vibewired for the iPod Shuffle

Tremendous.

Like any product the proof is in the testing and short of a pouring rainstorm, which I have been fortunate enough to avoid so far during this training cycle – the Vibewired™ set-up has worked flawlessly.

20-mile long run on Sunday, tempo run of 8-miles at 6:22 pace on Wednesday, clipped to the rear of my cycling helmet on the Tri-Bike Trainer in sweaty conditions – my Vibewired™ set-up delivered quality audio ever step and every pedal stroke of the way.

It’s a simple concept, which is a large part of the genius behind it – as most great ideas fit into that category.

To Steve and the rest of the gang at Vibewired™ thank you very much for solving one of the last remaining mysteries for me when it comes to what gear I need to take with me when I leave the house in the morning.

Now if you could do something for me about how to carry my gels during a marathon I think I would be all out of excuses!

If you are an outdoor enthusiast who shares a passion for taking your music with you on the go – this is simply a product you need to have.  You can visit Vibewired™ on the web at:  http://www.vibewired.net/

You can also follow them on Facebook and Twitter:

http://www.facebook.com/Vibewired

https://twitter.com/#!/vibewired

If you order from their site, you van receive a 15% discount for entering code:

runfordom

Run and Rock on people!

Photo Compliments of Vibewired